🎥 Visualizing “Life After Life” for Steemit Vision Quest [Original Videos and Poetry]

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

One specific event that twisted my life around at an early age was the disappearance of my dad. He fell into a river with a whirlpool, and his body never surfaced. This happened in 1996, when I was 16 years old. Here is a collection of artworks created in response to this event, visualizing “Life After Life” for Steemit Vision Quest - Week 8.


The Story

Elementary art teacher, Terry Lindsay, fell into the “Wiggin's Fork” of the Wind River northeast of Dubois, Wyoming, while fishing. The date was August 6, 1996, and the 43-year-old father of two was presumed drowned after the extensive search efforts of emergency personnel were unable to find his body. The Fremont County Sheriff’s Department confirmed that Terry Lindsay was the apparent victim of a drowning. The details of this story are expressed here: https://www.wildfamily.tv/terry-lindsay.

The Life

Scene from the film, “Wild Family,” featuring the true story of one man's disappearance in a Wyoming river whirlpool.

I shared the story of my dad's mysterious passing in a documentary feature film, called Wild Family. This film explored parenthood and childhood through outdoor adventures and in-depth interviews with 40 families. The scene above is one of the pieces of my family's personal story, appearing in the film as a way of celebrating the gift that is life, and respecting the fragility of it.

The Life After Life

My brother and I returned to the same river, 20 years after my dad's passing, and I documented the Journey.

During our time together, my brother played a rhythmic chord progression on his guitar, and I sang along, with the words to “Enters The Sun.” We recorded the music you hear here in just one take. It felt like divine intervention to me, so it became the soundtrack to this short film.


The Vision

I envision life after life
I can see myself in the arena of lights
Yes I can see myself shine
Reflecting God’s Light

I will remember my ancestry
Remembering the souls who are home before me
Aho mitakuye oyasin
I honor all of my relations

I will cherish the plants and animals
Fruit flower tree herb vegetable
Yes I will cherish the living
Hummingbird jaguar buffalo

I will bathe in the Seventh Ray
Through the Violet Flame of São José
I Am
Entering a new dimension

I will go with God all the way
Let go and go to God when my soul comes home
Yes I will go in joy
Bless my soul I will go with God

I am comforted by the anticipation
Of a warm welcome when my soul comes home
Yes I am filled with warmth
Considering infinite peace

I am home right here right now
Already home here and now all right
Yes in this present moment
I am happy to be home


The Process

The poem you see above originated at a Sun Dance ceremony. Sun Dance is a sacred ceremony practiced by the Lakota (Sioux), along with other indigenous people of the Great Plains. For the past three years, I've attended a Sun Dance held at Thunder Ranch, here in Texas, supporting my uncle, who is a Sun Dancer. To me, it's an opportunity to immerse myself in the Spirit realm, and re-connect with my dad.

I received the words to this poem and song through a melody, followed by a certain stream of lyrics, inspired by my interpretation of the afterlife, and the idea of returning "Home." If you can imagine the scene, I stood under a wild white sky, feeling strangely lifted, almost dizzy, penciling the words onto a notepad. Surrounding me was a circular arena surrounded with buffalo skulls, with a space for a sky-high cottonwood tree to stand in the center.

This was "Tree Day," and we were on our way to bring a living tree from the forest to be planted here, as a symbol of sacrifice, falling and then rising again, representing new life. Sun Dancers were later fastened to this tree, held by the skin of their chests, falling and then rising, as if dying and being born as a new person. To me, Tree Day brings my mind to the thought of Jesus. Everywhere I look, I see Jesus. In the people. In the tree... This poem arrived into my life on Tree Day.


The Quest

Steemit Vision Quest - Week 8: Life After Life

This is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 8: Life After Life. Thanks to the SVQ team, who is a steady force of encouragement for all of us willing to bring our collective Visions together for the higher good of all: @eaglespirit, @rensoul17, and @girlbeforemirror. Thanks to all the Vision Questers, and thanks to all of the supporters. Thanks to the creators of Steemit, and thanks to those who continue to make this platform great. I appreciate you. I honor all my relations. Aho. God bless you.

The song, "My Golden Rule," provides the soundtrack in the Wild Family scene you see above. This song is written and performed by Melissa Gail Klein. Last year, I teamed up with animator Sally Sherwood to create a music video for the song, which was released just a few weeks ago. You can be among the first to see it!


Sort:  

It's a beautiful story.

Thanks for your witnessing, and for your encouragement.

I am sorry for your loss, but feel it is a beautiful thing to honor your Dad in this way. ❤️ Thank you for sharing.

Feels freeing to share the story. Brings me peace to remember him, and honor his life. I appreciate your kind words, my friend.

So powerful and moving @cabelindsay, the experience of pain, trauma and healing is very beautifully and tenderly expressed. I lost my father just before I turned 16, and while he was 43! It's a hole and always will be. You have my admiration and respect for the reverence and sensitivity with which you approach life - you too are an inspiration 🔆 🔆 🔆
🚣

Brother, you have blessed my life with your kindness this week. Thank you so much. Ah, man, so you know just how it feels to let go of a dad during those formative years. Hugs and high-fives to you and your father.

This is just amazing Cabe. The story of your loss touched me deeply. But the healing process and how you documented it is more than incredible.

Means so much to me to have the encouragement of a fellow filmmaker and family man. Thank you. I feel really happy to know you.

Oh, Cabe! What an incredible man your father must have been! Thank you so much for taking this event and becoming a man your father would be proud of rather than any of the other tragic options that were available to you. Much love, my friend!

Much love to you too! Thank you. Yes, there's so much more to see and say about this event. Twenty years later, I feel very connected with him, as I'm learning to keep that vibration alive.

Ohmygosh, I cried when I read and viewed this beautiful post. I was particularly touched by your father giving that poignant and important message to his class. You must have cried rivers. But what beautiful lessons it bought for you, your family and others. Many blessings.

So nice. Thank you. Yes, in fact it was about 10 years after my dad's passing that this video surfaced. It's as if he reached down from the spirit world and planted a gift for me here, so I could continue to know him in a new way. I feel very fortunate to know this man. Thank you again, and blessings right back atcha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49