🔥 “Road Of Life” - Original Poem, Illustrations, and Photos for Steemit Vision Quest

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

For Easter weekend, I had the honor of sitting in two spiritual ceremonies, and I feel inspired to share briefly about these mystical experiences. I also have the words to a new song, written for Steemit Vision Quest - Week 9, visualizing “The Road.”


The Story

I am proud to be a member of the Native American Church (NAC), which is the most widespread indigenous religion in the Americas. In this church, we regard the peyote plant as a holy sacrament, and we consume it as a way of communicating with the Spirit (God).

Personally, I find brilliance and beauty in the way this plant gives its life for us, in order to show us how to live. To me, this parallels the legacy of Jesus. We sing Jesus' name in some songs, and in fact, the first NAC ceremony took place on Easter, many years ago.

From what I understand, the NAC tradition allows for every individual to hold one's own interpretation of the divine. Although I'm sure there are many shared beliefs among us, each one has the freedom to believe what we choose to believe. Often, elders arrive and share their prayers, stories, and songs. We sing traditional songs together, while also having the invitation to let the medicine work wonders through us, with new songs.

While I'd love to go into detail about the way we pray, and the way we bring these prayers to life, and the feathers, and the cedar smoke blessings, and the miracles that occur, and they ways we get to know our nature, and... I'll say about that much. I am a white person, and so my commitment is to listen with two ears and talk with just one mouth. That's the way Creator made me.


The Vision

Road of life
Lead us in a straight and narrow line
Lead us in the way the crow flies
Lead us in the skyward journey

Lead us
On the path of least resistance
Lead us to the destination
Where one journey ends and another begins

Father Sky
Guide us by the sun the moon the stars
Guide us by the wind the rainbow
Guide us by the rain the lightning

Mother Earth
Be the water flowing with us
Be the wildflowers growing with us
Be the fire to inspire us

We will
Caterpillar in and butterfly out
Standing with the strength of the mountains
Walking with the spirit of the buffalo

We will
Honor all of our relations
Honor every dot in the medicine wheel
Honor every life and every point of light


The Process

The poem you see above is a new song. It's a sing-along. I think of it as a prayer, and it is also an encapsulation of the many facets of insight and gratitude I experienced this past weekend. Wow, what a weekend! Full moon. Good Friday. Easter Sunday... So very beautiful.

Writing this song, my creative process began with a melody. The melody originated in a remembrance of a song called "Go My Son." My melody is different, but the inspiration is significant. To me, this song is legendary. "Go My Son" is written by Arlene Nofchissey Williams, of the Navajo tribe; and Carnes Burson, Ute. The quote ("Education is a ladder to help us reach happiness, go and climb that ladder") is originally stated by Chief Manuelito.

The melody created a road of its own. It allowed me to step into a journey, moving toward a destination, driven by a wonderful tone and a special feeling. I thought of "The Red Road," which is a concept of the right path of life, as inspired by some of the beliefs found in a variety of Native American spiritual teachings. With humility, I believe this concept is respectful of the the indigenous cultures, appreciating the good examples these First Nations have set for us.

The illustrations and photos you see here are original, and each one is designed specifically for Steemit. I've shared them a time or two before. I'm including them here with the intention of setting the scene, with a certain kind of vibe that respects the Warrior of Light, the Creative Fire, and the Sacred Medicine that inspires me.

Aho. Mitakuye Oyasin (I honor all my relations).


The Quest

Steemit Vision Quest - Week 9: The Road

This is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 9: The Road. Thanks to the SVQ team, who is a steady force of encouragement for all of us willing to bring our collective Visions together for the higher good of all: @eaglespirit, @rensoul17, and @girlbeforemirror. Thanks to all the Vision Questers, and thanks to all of the supporters. Thanks to the creators of Steemit, and thanks to those who continue to make this platform great. I appreciate you. I honor all my relations. Aho. God bless you.


Sort:  

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 7250+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

Beautiful works of art...

Thanks for your comment here. I appreciate you for seeing the beauty.

Peyote is on my short list, how do I find local ceremonies?????

Yeah, if you're feeling called, then I imagine a line will open up for you. One of the natural entry points is the sweat lodge. Sweat lodges are often open to the public, and it's likely you'll find members of NAC there, because the sweat lodge is closely tied into the tipi meeting. After you make your prayers, and seek out a local sweat lodge, then we can see if there's a meeting you can attend.

Wow..This was interesting to me seeing the native american way to celebrate Easter...thanks for sharing...Resteemed

Cool, I'm happy to know this interests you. It was a pleasant surprise to me as well. I appreciate the resteem too, thanks!

Red Road is interesting. Love Indians. I like the Go My Son song. My first time hearing it today. Sounds like it is from the 1970's. I like it. Love the journey of life. Even the forks in the road of life. I believe in destiny. Love your art. I draw and make videos too. Thanks for sharing hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Pleasure to meet you, Joey. Thanks for your encouraging words here. I'll check out your blog, and look for your drawings, videos, and other signs of your life's journey. Wishing you a great day.

Some day I hope we can share stories and chanunpa. Lovely poem, I look forward to hearing it in song!

Oh yes, we must meet up! Thank you. Yes, the song is so much fun – I'll share it soon.

I'm glad to find your steemit profile. We also respect Father Sky and Mother Earth. We used to gather every week as a drum circle on Wednesdays, and to trance on Tuesdays, and sometimes, we go to sweat hut.

Thanks for your comment here. Good to hear about your drum circles and sweats. Sounds like you've got a strong spiritual foundation and I admire that. I'm glad we found each other this way, sister.

Very good post, this story is very encouraging and educational I congratulate you brother for sharing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77