Growing Impatiens for the Shade Garden by Sunscape

gardening flowers.jpg

If any of you happen to follow me, you already know that I am an avid gardener and have been for over 50 years. Multiple gardens surround my entire home, which begin at the streets edge and continue around my entire property. I have been growing my own flowers, fruits and vegetables for many years. The best part about it is knowing that everything I grow has been done organically by enriching my soil yearly.

Today I would like to show you some of the ways in which I have incorporated the Impatiens flowers into my landscape. One of the benefits of growing a large amount is getting to enjoy the butterflies gathering nectar from the flowers. I start all of my plants from seeds that I have saved from the previous year. The variety of colors and patterns is always fun to see as the flowers begin to bloom. The original plants I started with have long ago reverted back to through their genetic lines. So I never know what color flowers I will get to enjoy each year. I love being surprised, don't you?

impatiens greenhouse.jpg

Young Impatiens growing in the greenhouse.

impatiens shade.jpg

A bed of flowers planted around one of my large trees.

impatiens basket.jpg

This hanging basket hangs from one of the brackets on my back porch.

hanging basket.jpg

Another hanging basket I placed on the porch to protect it from a strong wind storm.

impatiens.jpg

Impatiens planted with some Red Salvia for the hummingbirds.

impatiens variety.jpg

flowers.jpg

As you can see from all the photos that I have a variety of colors and patterns that emerged from my original Red Impatiens that I purchased many years ago. I can't wait to see what this years babies are going to be. They are growing quickly now and I already have my hanging baskets planted. I will be sure to share photos with you over the summer. Happy Gardening everyone.

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Website
Twitter
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations

Sort:  

Those are so lovely! Very good of you to get a headstart. We grow a vegetable garden, and a few flowers.

Have you grown Vinca before? Similar colors, and so easy to save seed! Very prolific in warm climates.

Cant wait for all the green and colors of spring!

:-)

Hi @justincase I have grown vinca years ago when I used to sell a lot of flowers and veggies. But now I stick to just a few of my favorites. I do a lot of flowers, but a lot of my growing space is for food. It is a great mix and keeps me quite busy all year.

Very cool!

What are your favorite flowers for food or companion planting with your food?

We use marigolds. Do you have any other healthy suggestions?

Would you believe I mostly use Marigolds and Calendula flowers. The Marigolds are the best for pest control. I plant Calendula to attract the bees to my growing areas near cucumber, squash and pepper plants for pollinating.

I'll take a look at calendula, Thanks!

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I love the idea of surprise flowers and especially border around the tree! <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured in MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #13

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-13

Thank you so very much that is very kind of you. I am honored to have the post featured.

Beautiful shots! I love impatiens and always grow it too. I also have some of that same salvia which comes back year after year here in Florida! The hummingbirds do love it! :-) tip!

Thank you very much, I do love my gardens and this year I will be working on my photographing skills with all of them. ;-)

Flowers are so photogenic, and make great models! 🌻

They sure do, what would I photograph if not my gardens

Hi @sunscape! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dmcamera!

@dmcamera wrote lately about: Ten Facts And One Lie About Me - The Truth About The Lie Feel free to follow @dmcamera if you like it :)

good.i like

When are you coming over to do my garden?

Aww that is sweet! I am afraid I have all I can do to keep up with all of mine. lol

Your garden is so beautiful, I would be so happy with all those beautiful flowers! Sure you have enough work to make it so beautiful but worth it. I love enjoy it that all this beaty pictures ♥

Thank you as always, the gardens keep me very busy throughout the year, but we so enjoy doing it. The wildlife and the birds bring so much joy.

Beautiful impatiens! We haven't gotten our plug tray delivery for our greenhouse yet. We have loads coming that'll need to be transplanted.

I used to love getting the plugs in years ago when I sold to the public. That was always fun to see all the babies arrive. Now I grow all mine from seed for my own gardens and I just last week upplanted the impatiens and they are growing fast now. Have fun with your greenhouse, it's the best feeling growing everything.

My mom currently has four greenhouses for her business. We should be getting the impatiens any day now. I'm having so much fun it doesn't feel like work! We've got petunias to finish, but all our coleus, begonias, gerbera daisies, dahlias, osteospernum, and pentas are all done. This time of year seems to go by so fast. Tho I can't wait until we open so I can see everyone from the area again. It's nice when the locals appreciate the work you do.

Wow such a great work beautiful keep continue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52