You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new account @survival-archive will provide you with books & films which may just save your life

in #survival5 years ago

It was kind of you to mention me, as the idea of helping others was yours, I only wanted to help you and your family...as I tend to do things for people I like, not just for everyone.
:)

Sort:  

Credit where credit is due. The idea would not have been born without you.

Am chatting today with a friend at my old eco community in Bali. They have a bunch of useful documents already on a massive server, so potentially we can add to this.

I like the idea of archive.org but do we have a guarantee they won't get bought out by google at some point?

I also noticed it is possible to store books on Discord, so looking into that too. Perhaps this whole thing could just be a Discord group?

I refuse to use Discord.

I did use them, but i then read of how they record everything and sell it to advertisers. I thought it is bs and ignored it, but then a few days later I changed ISPs and soon as I tried to use discord again, they would not allow me to sign in, saying that my IP has changed and they will want my details again, including my cell phone number. The info they wanted would pinpoint me, which they can do with a check on my ip number, but I guess they got lazy.

Why would my IP number matter? I know people who connect mostly from free connections at coffee shops...does that mean they cannot use discord?

Telegram also were caught selling user data, but they faced bankruptcy because of that so they publicly admitted what they had done and vowed to never do so again. It seems the market has believed them, for most security-conscious people seem to prefer it now.

Of course, since google bought them, one of the worst is whatsapp. It spies and reports on everything you say or record and sends it to google.

I've heard the same regarding Discord. I do use Telegram for participating in various groups. For private messaging I use Signal and highly recommend it.

FYI... WhatsApp was bought by Facebook, not Google but your point about those companies being untrustworthy is certainly valid.

You are right, thanks.

I've heard a bit about Signal, but I have no other info, but luckily I do not need to communicate with anyone through the web, I prefer to use the telephone (not cell). If nyone is spying on me there, it is only the local govt, not the big tech giants.

Thanks for your reply, as I sometimes feel that maybe I dreamt the info about Discord, as nobody else seems to know about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68212.63
ETH 2645.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69