Ask the Car Guy @socky July 7

in #support6 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

ZEngine1.jpg

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-key

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

Sort:  

What are the symptoms of a bad idle air control vs faulty Mass air flow sensor?

A bad idle air control valve can cause the vehicle to idle badly. You can also find that when the AC is in use, the engine could die or idle really bad.

The mass air flow can cause many issues. Bad idle, engine stall, jerking, difficulty to start, or poor performance.

Well it's sometimes racing and then suddenly drops to running rough and low rpms when near idle. Sometimes it's kicking when accelerating. I'm thinking it's the airflow sensor.

It's a 2001 Ford Taurus.

You may want to check for vacuum leaks. A leak will bypass the mass air flow sensor and cause a lean condition. The mass air flow sensor operates by passing current through thin wires. The wires are cooled by the air traveling through the intake and this can be measured. If the mass air flow sensor is dirty, the computer will think that there is a small amount of air entering the engine and will create a lean condition.

Does it only happen when the AC is running?

This has happened before on other Ford Taurus. It could be a bad alternator or something that is pulling a large load on the electrical system. It sounds crazy, but here is the reason. Ford programmed the ecm to raise the engine rpm to raise alternator output rather than cut off the a/c. At low RPM, the alternator puts out low voltage. If the alternator is under performing or there are extra loads on the electrical system like an aftermarket sound system, then this could be your problem.

What car is it and what year?

lool 😂 it can be real hhh great postv👏

Ahahaha... I wish I've seen you earlier. I drive an old car, a 2005 lancer and recently had to bring it to the shop for leak in the radiator. As you would have known, cooling system troubles often leads to a long list of issues, the water pump came next, the AC leaked, and I just hope the main gasket don't leak in the next few months until I get to raise money to get it fixed.

Oh well. You can come visit me if you have another issue. You really can't go without AC where I am at. Today it reached 115. It is HOT!

At this time I'm preparing a post of everything that happened to me, it was not easy and more expensive because the cost of the spare parts are so expensive that I could only remanufacture the plate, the disk and calibrate the steering wheel. the sad thing is that the SBD I had had to sell to pay, what I have in my portfolio today, are payments from last week. The clutch kit costs 320,000,000.00 million Bolivares and reusing my pieces only came out in 80,000,000.00 million Bolivares, here the inflation is so high that the government communists want to remove 6 zeros to the currency. that does not solve the root problem

@socky I have seen you are a great lover of cars... I have started a sponsorship campaign for my formula student team. Our club requires around 20000$ to complete entire project. As alumni I'm planning to sponsor around 200$ from my savings. I'm trying give them more through steemit platform. Please spread a word with your friends. Here are the details of the project::
https://steemit.com/upfundme/@kpreddy/upfundme-day1-sponsorship-campaign-for-our-formula-student-car-blood-sweat-gasoline-because-race-car-we-fly-low

Hi!
Thanks for offering this amazing service.. My KIA is not starting on sulf. What would be the problem??

I'm don't know what "starting on sulf" means. I looked up "sulf" and did not find any definition. I would like to help, but you would need to leave a much longer description. A starting problem could involve hundreds of possible scenarios. Such a short description of a problem would make it impossible for me to provide an answer.

Thats nice to see your post because people also helped by the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58