Be supportive before supported

in #support7 years ago


As we all know, many new people came on Steemit and some are really supportive and active on the network, they support, they comment and they grow on this network as we did before them (best regards, @lordoftruth, you are an example of a great new Steemer))!

But many other new users maybe don't understand this system of supporting each other! They will comment on your post literally like this:

"I follow you, you follow me!"

Is that good way to start to STEEM around?

Well, I know that they must increase the number of followers and they do all they can for that in order to be more successful on Steemit, but what if that user doesn't give you her/his upvote on the post where she/he left the comment! You commented on my post asking me to follow you, but you didn't upvote that post of mine!

We had this problem before, but it was even worse! You could see comments on your post like this:

"Great post, thanks for sharing!"

But again, without upvote! You took the time to read my post and you wrote a comment but you were stingy about your VOTING POWER!

If you disagree with my post, then your comment without upvote is welcomed, but if you ask me to follow you and you just told me that my post in "nice" (but without your upvote) then I really don't know what to think about you and your goals here!
The best way to become supported is to be supportive! Fill your feed with authors that have content of your interests and, if you like what they do, don't forget to upvote!

For all decent new Steemers I suggest to follow @bullionstackers, a friendly and supportive guy who runs a campaign to support new users! Thank you!

Sort:  

If you can't write something constructive and add to the post then don't comment
Its all about working together and building the community and make it a nice place to be

Thank you for posting @dumar022.

Appreciate this well written explanatory article. Sound advise.

Yes....courtesy and good manners will take the newcomer far. Even the.....golden rule...Do unto others as you would have them do unto you....comes to mind.

@bullionstackers is a great one for the newcomer....very supportive indeed.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Cheers, @bleujay, always good reply!

Yes definitely no more comment like this:
"I have upvoted your post,can you upvote my new post(https://steemit.com/money/@wallsnow/introducing-randowhale-get-whale-power-by-sending-steem-stemm-dollar) also?Thanks "
No more! Its was enough!

Well, you can't forbid someone to comment, but they at least should upvote you!

Yes! By the way,You know randowhale?

No, I just wanted for this post to be more visible so I sent him 2sbds

haha, yepp have seen a lot of new users do that. Follw'd your suggestion and followed @bullionstackers.

Thank you! It seems that you run nice blog!

Aww, thank you so much @dumar022!

Totally agree @dumar022 Ofcourse none of us can ignore that we are all here for the reward. But don't expect to get rewarded if you're obviously only here for your own gains. It is a community where you also need to give before receiving. Luckily time will show us all which people are true to heart and which are heart purely for the quick buck.

Will also check out @bullionstackers because didn't heard of him before.

Have a nice day :)

Thank you! We all here are glad when we get nice rewards, but we cannot grow more that community grows. We grow together, an individual depends on the community. I think that users can get bigger rewards if they are friendly and supportive! Community always supports back

Excactly! One for all and all for one :)

Most people are probably here for the reward, but not only the reward I hope.

Myself, when I first joined I had little to no intention of earning money. I just wanted to get my stuff stored on the blockchain. =)

That's good enough for me to follow you!

Thanks Mate for nice words
I was so busy today
I saw your post just now
If I will become good steemer because I learn a lot from all of you
You’re all fantastic bloggers in your own right and my posts would be nothing were it not for the support of all of you.

This is so great comment!
You are great Steemer, just do what you do and I'll be here to back you up!

Thanks my friend, Really I learned a lot from you and from others
and I was supported by you and others..the reason why I Became known here in short time!
But also I have to learn a lot to become as you said good steemer
Thanks for your great support

They are just spamming comments hoping you will follow them. We see this on YouTube all the time. They don't want to wear down their power, or just don't care. They figure if they paste that comment on 100 posts, maybe they will get 10 followers. I hate to see that, and I don't follow or support those types.

But there are also some uninformed newbies who see what those jerks do and think that's ok...

Yes I agree! I am not sure what can be done about it. Maybe they will pick up good habits if they are around long enough?

Thanks. Your post did make me reflect on the quality of comments and the time taken to support others by upvoting. I am still a newbie and really appreciate all the guidance and support. I will do the same for others. I am going to follow you for getting further nuggets of wisdom (or maybe BOULDERS of wisdom :-) )

Thanks! There are really nice photos on your blog!

Thank you. Please take a look and comment when you have some free time. Will help me improve content and perhaps my photography!

You got a follower :)

Thank you for being so supportive!

I like these guys. Been following and tossing votes their way since forever. haha.

Nice post. good call.

LOL! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54