Seed project: a welcome surprise

in #succulents6 years ago

This morning, I was misting the Hoodia gordonii seeds prior to putting them outside and I was surprised to see that one has sprouted.

hoodia sprout.jpg

Hoodia seeds are supposed to take 2 weeks to germinate and this is only 4 days since sowing. It is definitely a Hoodia sprout, I can see that from the seed pod. They are also supposed to be sown when they are still fresh and I wasn't feeling optimistic, due to the three-month delay courtesy of the Post Office.

Once seeds have sprouted, they need to be left uncovered because the humidity under the glass is too high and will cause the little plants to rot. Hoodia normally only make it past the germination stage successfully if the seed has sprouted under a bush or in the shade of a rock, otherwise they fry in full sun. This little seedling pot can't be left outside in the sun now so it has been moved to my bathroom, where there is filtered morning sun and bright light the rest of the day. This is what the adult plant looks like.

640px-Hoodia_gordonii_P1010383.JPG
Image source: Wikipedia - Winfried Bruenken (Amrum) - Own work, CC BY-SA 2.5

There is no sign of sprouting from any of the Haworthia seeds but I wouldn't expect to see anything until the weekend. I found the cactus seeds and sowed them, too although I'll be very surprised if any germinate, I realised that they must be at least 5 years old. We'll see, some cactus seeds are very long-lived

Sort:  

Congratulations!
It is interesting to see how your seedlings grow and grow!
Adult plant is very interesting!
I noticed him when I saw him in the internet.
In the photo below - is it the same?
Or his version?
photo from internet

Гудия-3.jpg

Гудия-2.jpg

Yes, those are the same. It is one of the stapeliad family so those pretty flowers stink!

Oh no!!!
And I wanted them ...

I thought I should warn you, I remember how you complained about the flies on your stapelia :P

Yes, thanks a lot!
It's very good that you wrote about his smell!

Glad to hear your seed sprouted. Some months ago I purchased some carnivorous plant seeds and tried to plant a dozen Venus fly trap seeds in a make shift terrarium. None sprouted. Since then I was discouraged and didn't bother with the rest. Would the seeds still be good, and is there a specific way to plant them?

Unfortunately, I have no experience with growing seed from carnivorous plants. I'm certain that it would only sprout in peat moss and if rainwater is used but I don't know much beyond that. Have you done google searches? There are probably carnivorous plant forums you could join which would be helpful

Thank you. I have not done any research. In fact you were my first thought about pursuing this issue. I will check into the forum idea.

Cactus to me are amazing how they developed to survive.

They are incredible plants

Congrats! Now we wait for the rest. And the cacti too :)

Thank you. The cacti will be a miracle

Fingers crossed!

Recently I saw that you followed me, I give you a follow in return, I would love to invite you to give me upvote on my post, and support my project, I will upvote for you in the future.

I thank you for encouraging me and other artists. Keep on Steemin my friend!

Source
When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Except that you are lying and a spammer. Reported to Steemcleaners

That was quick, they must be happy with what you've done for them.

It helps to follow instructions sometimes ;) I am lucky that any germinated after all that time in the mail

It is very interesting if you manage to grow this beautiful plant. Very original cactus.

These are quite easy to grow because they are native to South Africa

I have noticed too that when seeds of succulent plats germinate, they need to be left uncovered. Cacti can be covered form many weeks, even year/years (some very very slow growing cacti need to be left even two years covered.), but succulents no, especially stapeliads.

Stapeliads really hate humidity, I have lost a few that way. Thank you for the tip about cacti, I assumed that they are the same as succulents

Most important thing is, if you want to leave cacti seeds covered for month or more, to sprinkle finely powder fungicide over the seeds (not too much, that will suffocate them)!!!! If you don't do that, there is a big chance of some diseases which will destroy young green balls, regardless of most careful sterilization.

Thanks, I'll remember that

Wouldn’t it be cool if they did sprout? How is your garden coming along? 🐓🐓

It would although it is doubtful. The vegetables are pretty much on hold because of the soil problem but I am still busy working on digging out all the stones. Not a small task!

Cute little sprout

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99