All your hard work will soon pay off

in #success7 years ago


I was raised by a single mother until I was 8. My mother is the reason why I decided to work hard, and go to college. Growing up I always saw my mother working. She would clean houses, work in mini gas stations in Texas, hair salons, and even cooked food to sell it. She did whatever it took to provide food and comfort for my brothers and I. She always put her kids before herself because she always wanted us to be happy. I had to mature at a very young age because I could see my mom struggle with buying us clothes or toys. What did I do? I wore the same jeans to school for a very long time because they were in perfectly good condition and I also didn't cry or beg for a toy because I knew money was tight. I was happy with what I had and I made the best of it.


At the age of 16 I decided to go out and look for a job. I wanted to help my mom out by her not worrying about spending money on me. I was in high school and I knew expenses were going to be higher. I started working at a grocery store "Apple Market" I bagged groceries for almost 3-4 years, I basically worked there all throughout high school. It was not the best job in the world however, I met some amazing people.


I always wanted to join either soccer or cheer in high school but that wasn't the case for me. While some of my classmates would hang out after school or change their shoes into their cleats I would rush home and change into my white button up shirt, apron, and black pants for work. I would push in over 20 carts and save little homeless kittens.. it was all worth it because I gained strength and I also helped Tiger find a home ( I begged my boss to take him in by the way.) Also, don't mind the chipped polish on my nails... I was a careless soul.


During my first semester of college I decided to sign up for nursing assistant classes which means I would attend my morning college classes and then drive over to a different institute to attend my CNA courses from 4-9 then go home and do homework.


I worked as a CNA for about 3 years. I took care of patients who suffered from Alzheimer's and Dementia disease. I would go back and forth from one job to another. I also worked for Hyvee which is a grocery store only this time I worked in the back and was in charge of the salad bar. I was still a full time college student. My stress levels were very high however looking back I would say it was well worth it because all the hard work lead me to a new car and the Dean's list.


In April 2016, I was given a wonderful opportunity to work for Children's Mercy Hospital. I left both of my jobs and worked for CMH during my last year of college. The job helped me get more exposure and knowledge in healthcare.


All of my hard work, dedication, and tough childhood lead me to this moment. No one wants to work during their high school years because you will never get those 4 years back, and no one wants to work two jobs during college. However, you have to think about the outcome. Whenever I felt like giving up I always thought about my mother and what she did for me just to have the opportunity to go to college and have a career in the future. If you ever feel like giving up just think about that one moment you will have while you walk across the stage and how proud you will make your family and friends feel. It is okay if you have to work your butt off and it is okay to not have the same things other people have. Sometimes you have to make certain sacrifices in life in order to become successful. You are your own person and if your story is different you will inspire others.


"First generation thanks to my parents"

Knowing I would be the first generation to graduate from a University motivated me to the finish line. I decided to put the word "parents" on my cap because my stepfather who I see as my actual dad came into the picture when I was 8 and provided me with love and shelter.


If you put your heart and mind into something, you will succeed.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Very much appreciate it

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content.
I found your post and decided to help you get noticed.
I will pay a resteeming service to resteem your post,
and I'll give you my stamp of automatic approval!
greetbot's stamp of approval

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was payed by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55