95% Of You That Read This...Won't Be Here In A Year From Now...

in #success6 years ago (edited)

newpic.png

I got started trying to 'make money online' way back in the late 90's...Yeah it's been a long long time since I've held an offline job.

My journey began simply because I was the world's worst employee...It didn't matter what the job was, I couldn't do well with people looking over my shoulder and critiquing every move I made. So of course, entrepreneurship was a natural fit.

I remember when I was first starting out, one of my mentors told me this simple truth that resonated with me over the years...

"Jon, stick with this and in a few years you will be successful!"

Basically, don't give up!

Simple enough advice, but extremely hard to follow through with. Life happens...Decisions you make don't always pan out and businesses you thought we going to be there forever, take a turn for the worst. I'm being completely transparent here that the past few months in my journey have been...Extremely tough. Bad decisions I made years ago are catching up to me and situations beyond my control are having a huge impact on my online businesses.

No complaints from me though. It's the entrepreneurial journey. It's supposed to suck at times...

The fact remains the majority of entrepreneurs rarely stick with their businesses and end up quitting. A rough road usually means weak hands will fold and while this is not a secret, it's why I think 95% or more, give up...

Successful entrepreneurs are stubborn beyond belief and it's actually a benefit...In some weird way lol We're wired differently...

I know most people will give up in business and we're seeing that right here on STEEM more than ever. A few months ago, you swore people waved the STEEM flag with pride and excitement...Now it's arguments about the upvote services and how the end is nigh...

FUD be damned!

"Stick with it!!!!"

The most amazing thing about being an entrepreneur is the journey. You never know what the new day may bring you...

Being an entrepreneur is not about huge wins each and every day. It's about stacking up the small wins that turn into massive success. The issue and major problem we see in not only online business but right here on Steemit is there is a massive lack of long term vision.

We are living in a microwave society where we expect results instantly and without putting in much effort.

'Sticking to it' is much more than just showing up everyday...It's accepting the roller coaster journey. It's also understanding that you won't win every single day. Being an entrepreneur is about learning to adapt and change your game plans when life throws you a curve.

Yeah, come to think about it...I understand why 95% or more give up...This isn't easy!

Therefore those that understand the challenges and are willing to be stubborn about success, always come out on top.

I urge you to not fall for the trap and become another statistic. Get out and create something remarkable for the years to come!

P.S. Did you see my latest contest? I'm trying to boost activity with my followers and reward one lucky reader with 100 Steem Power for the entire month of July...


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/95-of-you-that-read-this-wont-be-here-in-a-year-from-now/

UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

Working for yourself is better as you have control but you have to constantly look for next gig/investment because living ain't free. Steemit is a pretty weird place though. I would rather have it as a side job than my full time.

Oh no doubt...Especially with the prices fluctuating so much. Appreciate the comments sir, much appreciated.

My journey began simply because I was the world's worst employee

I'm with you100%!! I could never really understand the concept of going somewhere I didn't like and being told what to do, for a very small portion of the profits XYZ company was making. It never made sense to me.

Doing what I love and going out and making something happen for myself has been much more natural. And much more rewarding! The people we get to meet, the challenges we get to conquer, being able to decide our income, etc. Yeah, I'll take this over a J.O.B. any day.

Great article and I hope that people will find the "sticktoitness" within themselves to keep with whatever they're doing in life.. including being a successful blogger here on Steem. :)

Absolutely...Nothing beats it man. The failures, the successes. and everything in between lol I think that's the big message I wanna get across to people....It's 'everything' that makes the entrepreneurial journey so exciting.

Threw good times and bad times I am still hanging around. Made it threw the .com and bust and still plugging away. One of these years I will become and overnight success(lol) Stick with it long enough and you will make it.

For sure man....Nothing guaranteed...But when you do hit a homerun, it's so worth it!

You know Jon, I have followed you for 8 years (or more) and you have never steered me wrong. The only fault I have for not succeeding is my own. I have always been one to preach accountability for one's own actions. I am still of that belief and want you to know I try each day to move forward, to be better than I was the day before. I don't always succeed, but the journey still continues. Keep moving forward, only I can change the failures of the past, and only fools can see that quitting never solved anything.

Always appreciate the support brother. Only guarantee next to death and taxes is both of us being fans of horrible football teams LOL But seriously man, loved how you put it....Quitting never solved a thing...Ever

And those who stick with it will always prevail!

Yessir! Never a doubt about that!

Oh yeah, we need to always be ready for the journey, rough and smooth, come rain or shine I am still plugging away, I'm preparing for what's coming and it's going to be huge.... 😀 No FUD here I'm more excited than ever.

Agreed. FUD be damned LOL Yeah I'm excited for the future and just going to stick with it every day for the foreseeable future.

You know Jon, when i first joined steemit, i was first of all given the impression about how it's a money making scheme. How i just have to make post and i will get paid. I taught "Wow" this would be great, but as time went on the story has changed drastically. Intrestingly for me over time, that perspective i had about steemit has changed because i saw a different type of life here in this great community. I'm no longer just interested on what to get from here, i'm staying more than ever before because of the things i've learnt and some very amazing people i've come in contact with; like yourself @jongolson, @brandonfrye whose videos has really taught/helped me alot as a newbie. Thank you so much for this inspiring post. I'aint giving up on steem, this is the future and we all are living in it!

Awesome to hear man! Honored to be mentioned with @brandonfrye He's a legend in my books and a dude that 'gets it' when it comes to not only building businesses but a brand here on Steemit. Appreciate you sharing your journey with me too sir! Looking forward to seeing us all develop on he blockchain!

You deserve much more Sir

All I can say is this ain't no way to get rich over night. People must understand that you must find a passion for something, besides the "get rich schemes" that are everywhere online. They are all lies nothing worth while comes easy, if it did then you would loose the opportunity to learn,improve and love what you are doing. So crypto is crashing this yr...I say good because that means there will be more free crypto for me, but it also means that there will be new people to connect with and help them learn and grow. I love playing guitar, I love coding, But most of all I love the fact that I can decide to build a business that I can be proud of, I am in control, I am the CEO. It is all up to me to fail or succeed, me alone. If I would have just followed my gut through the yrs and stuck with it....I would have most likely been in your shoes...but I did not. I allowed myself to repeatedly get caught in the trap of promoting everyone elses business, instead of focusing on me...after all it is me that I must learn to sell 1st and foremost. It has taken along time for me to realize that. Self promotion is the 1st step to simply build a list, an online presence and requires that you earn trust. You have to believe in yourself 1st, if you do not it will show cause you will get frustrated and quit anything you choose to do in life. I don't know if I am making any sense but that is what has held me back more than anything over the years.

Really good points man. When I got started and created the old Affiliate Funnel, that was priority for me....Teach people to promote themselves and their brands first...Everything else will fall into place :)

Congratulations on hitting 1,000 followers!

Appreciate it!

I like "stacking up small wins", as you put it. The issue most people have is going through a streak of small (or big) losses without panicking and quitting. That's true with their investment "strategy" as well as with their business.

That's a good point...How many losses can you take before quitting seems like a better option....Tough question man and food for thought for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81