You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reasons Why Many People Fail

in #success7 years ago

there is nothing wrong with parents loving their children (it is natural and good) however, over pampering , making a child feel always special...

An interesting concept that I've been reading about lately points to a common error in raising our children. We err in praising our children's natural ability instead of their effort.

For example, we might say, "You are naturally gifted at math. You're lucky to have such a great gift for numbers." What we ought to be saying (at least equally as much, if not more, "Your hardworking and study has really paid off for you."

They may be naturally good at something, but praising it reinforces a mindset of 'You're already good. There's nothing you need to do to continue being good.'

As I look back on my child-rearing, I see that I have used some of this, myself. While not terrible compared to some of the other things we can or do to our kids, I can definitely see how praising innate ability as being counterproductive.

Sort:  

Good point, I agree with you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68