The Steemit Subreddit

in #subreddit8 years ago

Hey Steemians!

Source to the gif

As some of you might know, I used to browse reddit a lot before I ran into Steemit, that's why I posted the narwhal image as its one of reddits famous mascots. Still not quite sure what the definition of a narwhal would be on Steemit between all the dolphins and whales. But what I wanted to share with you is how inactive the Subreddit has gotten over the last couple of months, this can depend on a couple other factors as well. Certain subreddits are pretty aggressive with the amount of censorship and shadow-banning of other currencies or competitors, but as long as we keep our own subreddit active I am sure users will have easier access to their Steemit experience.

After discussing its situation with @ned I was now able to check the traffic stats and noticed that there was a huge interest of the Steemit Subreddit during july, as it was on Steemit as well during that time (and I'm guessing facebook and others too).

Unfortunately it seems like there was not a lot of assistance to the posts created and the questions had remained unanswered for some time.

To keep it short, the subreddit is an important source for newcomers who stumble upon Steemit.
Keeping the subreddit active and modifying the layout to make it more suited for Steemit would be a great next step for us as a community to take.

Quoting author @hilarski's recent post "Please Connect With the Steemit Social Media Platforms Across the Web", it is important to have these outlets up and running for newcomers or other activity.

So I'm asking you the members of this community to help me maintain the subreddit (because of timezones, etc) I am looking for 2 more users to moderate it with me. But I also want someone with the technical skills to update the layout.

Contributors will be rewarded with SD:

-background and header edited with more Steemit looking design
-upvote/downvote button image changed to steemit votes and flags

Feel free to other ideas from the community in the comment section below.

Then I am also looking for 2 volunteers to help me moderate the subreddit, this includes updating stickied posts like:

-Steemit Wiki
-Steemit Guidelines & FAQ
-Weekly Post-promotion thread
-New patch/updates info

and helping to downvote innappropriateness or abuse from accounts while providing help and answers to questions, or point them in the right direction where they can get more help with issues they might have. Be prepared of trolls frequenting the subreddit from other ones.

If you feel you are right for the task, comment on this post or DM me on steemit.chat and we can discuss it further!
Here is a link to the Steemit Subreddit.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

@acidyo

I can help with the layout. I am not a technical person but I can do the design if you give me specs

Thank you! I'll keep that in mind!

This is a great idea! While lots of people use Reddit, it would be good for Steemit to expand their presence there and make it more known by helping possible future users and current ones.

I don't have the ability or talent to designs buttons and such, but you know me as a long-time Moderator on Primedice, I'd love to help Moderate the Steemit Subreddit!

Please let me know if you're interested in using me. :)

Of course! @voltarius Thanks for stepping up and it would be awesome to have you contribute there as well! Let's talk more in DM about it!

start a contest for the design buttons distrubute the sd's to the artists and the community will provide you all the resources you will need in a week or less.

We have plenty of talented people here already.

start a contest for the design buttons distrubute the sd's to the artists

I thought about that but it's not that big of a job I think and looks like @ausbitbank will take care of it. :)

Great idea!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09