Sunday In The Studio

in #studio5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Sunday In The Studio


Spakfill My Heart, Spakfill My Heart (wip)

(spoken to the tune of 'Kickstart My Heart - Mötley Crüe')


Imgur


This cradled board was heading for the rubbish-bin but alas, it must've gained some life points along the way, as it's been given an extended lease on life to live again as a completely new artwork.

As an artist, I loathe to waste anything, especially a used canvas or board that didn't turn out so well. Sometimes, you just want that piece out of the house and it's really easy to sacrifice the canvas... but then other times, something will catch your eye and before making that final throw, you think 'hang on, maybe I'll try something first, before I chuck it' and you end up making something completely different to what you started with.


Imgur


This turned out to be one of those times... I had recently bought some texture paste and my thought was that I could use the board to practice on and that way, it didn't matter so much if I messed up.

So, I started out by creating a negative space in the shape of a heart. This was achieved by building the paste up around the sides, then pulling the cut-out heart shape through from the bottom which also brought up the paste, thus creating the negative space.


Imgur


Wanting to try out another recent studio purchase, I grabbed some gloss medium which was mixed with paint to create a whole lot of different coloured glazes... when I started playing around with the glazes, I got some really interesting effects.


Imgur


You can definitely see where I'm going with this now, can't you?

Anyhoo, there's still a little way to go before it could called a finished piece however, the artwork has most certainly earned it's right to stay in the KEEP pile...

...besides, I haven't finished playing with the glazing yet...!


Imgur


Reference: Spakfilla

spakfilla.jpg

Selleys Spakfilla Rapid is a ready mixed, lightweight, quick setting filler designed for both interior and exterior use. It fills holes and cracks in walls, ceilings, doors, windows, with a single application and comes complete with a filling spatula for ease of use. Suitable for use on plaster, wallboard, wood and plasterboard surfaces. src

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

stnicholas2018.png level.png weeklyAuthor.png

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

posts.png comments.png upvotes.png rewards.png replies.png upvoted.png

Last update: 23 July 2019

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49