Whales, Dolphins and Minnows / For New Steemains

in #sttemit7 years ago (edited)

Thank You For Your Support and For Honoring Me With Your Up Vote...

join.jpg

Few Days ago, I was asked about this 3 categories !
The reason why I want to share this info for new steemains..

Whales, Dolphins and Minnows:
Since Steem is a meritocratic system and not a democratic one,
some users have more voting power than others when curating content.
This power comes from the user’s Steem Power holdings.

Whales:
Users with huge amounts of Steem Power are called whales.
A single vote on your content by a whale can add hundreds of dollars to your payout. Whales can calibrate the power of their votes now, so not all whale votes confer huge rewards anymore.

Dolphins:
Users with a medium amount of Steem Power are called dolphins.
One of their votes can add a few cents or a dollar to your payout.

Minnows:
Users with a small amount of Steem Power are called minnows.
These users’ votes may add less than a cent to your payout.
You will start out as a minnow unless you invest significant
amounts of bitcoin into Steem Power.

Don’t worry about these categories.
Being a minnow doesn’t mean you’re doomed to fail.
It just means you need to put something of value into the system,
be that content curation, content creation, investment or something else.

Over time, the successful content creators will rise to the top and become the whales whereas any whales who don’t succeed at content creation will see their relative share of Steem Power decline.

  Why Steemit Will Revolutionize The Industry !  

  Follow The Golden Rules.  

  Use Steemit & Celebrities's Album.  

  Come and hang with us.  

  Read Forex Education Center / Volume I.  


Sort:  

Thanks. Very helpful.

He's not quite a whale, not quite a dolphin... but he sure looks hungry

the whales should lead for a good content curation and must support the minnor for post and shareing good content so all the steemit community get a gain and fill the purpose.

Well Said
Thanks for comment
Steem on

I found here the best support to new users I have seen in social media. Everyone has the opportunity to grow. And the fact that theres only upvotes makes for a much friendlier atmosphere. I know theres the flag but its still different, Reddit´s downvotes provoke a lot of trolling and bad energy.

Thanks for the clear explanation!

That's true about Reddit, some subreddits have massive downvote trolling almost every day and it tends to discourage newcomers from posting.

Thanks for support
Have a great sunday
Steem on

Thank u man

You are welcome
Thanks for support

Thanks for reminding again that we are still minnows here. LOL

We must try to become Dolphins
Thanks for support

I am trying my best to beccome a dolphin but my steem power is not allowing me. If you have some free time, visit to my blog and heck my posts and tell me how can I improve them and what is lacking in it.

will visit your blog soon

thanx a lot dear.

Love your work and the whales.

Thank you very much for your work @lordoftruth, I am a newborn minnow so I find your blog very useful to understand better Steemit. Following your advice I can think of a question.
If you upvoted something, would you spend steem power?
Sorry if my English is bad, Im from Spain and Im lerning (So corrections are appreciated)

Pretty damn helpful mate! Good post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74