The Story of Matera. Street photography (10 pics)

Have you ever heard about Sassi di Matera? I've read about it occasionally. I was googling about something and found photos of it. And I've decided - I must go there. It was before my self-planned Italian vacations, so all I need to do it to re-arrange everything to add Matera to our itinerary.

Photographs I've seen were awesome but... When I went throw the inconspicuous entrance it was just ... breathtaking. I can't believe my eyes. The medieval Matera was not just old and good preserved town. It was a time travel.

Have a look at the photos, and then I'll tell you it's story.

IMGP2143.jpg

IMGP2166.jpg

IMGP2164.jpg

IMGP2156.jpg

IMGP2157.jpg

IMGP2163.jpg

IMGP2162.jpg

IMGP2154.jpg

IMGP2161.jpg

IMGP2167.jpg


Now, could you believe that Matera was one of Italy’s most deprived cities? But let's start from the begining. According to Wikipedia, The Sassi di Matera are two districts (Sasso Caveoso and Sasso Barisano) of the Italian city of Matera. It is located in a remote corner of southern Italy in the small region Basilicata. Sassi means "stones". Matera was a place of ancient cave dwelling.

Until the 1950s, Matera was a source of shame for Italy, a place of poverty, malaria, cholera and typhoid, and high rates of infant mortality. People still lived in caves without electricity, ventilation, running water or drainage. Carlo Levi’s book Christ Stopped at Eboli raised awareness of the desperate conditions people. Less than 70 years ago some 15,000 people, mostly peasants and farmers, were still living in grottoes carved out of limestone that dated back to Matera’s prehistoric era.

Since it became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1993 tousists numbers are slowly growing. Caves have been transformed into stylish hotels and restaurants.

But the biggest step forward is, as for me, that Matera will also be 2019’s European capital of culture. It is getting ready for that significant event already. So, just remember this name: Matera.

IMGP2127.jpg

Sort:  

Truly beautiful!
Both the photos of the beautiful architecture of the past but also the story behind it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.70 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.14
Server time: 19:17:21
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2142.71/3200.00
Total Photos: 137
Total comments: 237
Total contest wins: 25
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I know about sassi di matera . The Sassi di Matera are two districts of the Italian city of Matera, Basilicata, well-known for their ancient cave dwellings. The Sassi have been defined by Fodor's as "one of the most unique landscapes in Europe"

That's true! Have you ever been there?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Невероятные сюжеты, точно на машине времени перенеслась в средневековье! И вдруг Бух! И снова на площади с wi-fi в 21 веке ))

Да, это точно :) W-f-, кстати, мы не тестировали, но подготовка к 2019 идет полным ходом.

good friend post, it's something nice matera will go forward as time passes

thank you, my friend

lovely place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28