Sort:  

Really?!! Tell me more!!!! That means I have to add Indian weddings from every region to my bucket list!!!!

Wedding customs vary along the length and breadth of a state even . I am from South India~Kerala . In our state we have traditional Hindu weddings , Christian wedding and Islam wedding . Even the Hindu wedding customs slightly vary from place to place inside the state.

In North Indian wedding they have a day alloted for applying henna on bride which is known as Mehandi function as in the picture you posted above. Then they have functions like Haldi , Sangeeth. As far as I know North Indian weddings are more elaborate and the function last for many days.

The costumes of bride and groom is another feast to the eyes. While we wear a saree and jasmine is an integral part of the bridal hairstyle, in the North the bride wears 'Lehanga' and cover their head. Most customs prefers bright variations of red for the wedding outfit.

Even I wish to witness a Bengali wedding , Sikh wedding , Marathi wedding , Punjabi wedding,Kashmiri wedding , Tamil Iyengar wedding someday .....😊

I have posted a picture of my wedding for the colour challenge sometime ago. If you wish to see here it is

So cool!!! I was supposed to go to Kerala, but my flight got canceled because of snow in Turkey :( so I only got to visit Mumbai and Lonavala. Kerala is still on my list!!

Oooo I went to Sangeeth, it was SO much fun! Dancing non-stop!

Thanks for all of this info!! Super cool to know about all of the different kinds of styles there is! I'm about to google all of the different kinds haha.

I got some Mehandi on my hands, too, but obviously it was less than the bride's was. Hers covered all of her arms and I think her feet, too. I liked mine a lot. I wanted it to stay on for at least 6 months... haha how can I get henna for 6 months? I wish that was possible.

Haha..You can deepen the colours by adding sugar and lemon juice but no ways to make it last that longer 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37