Street Photography - I Dreamed I Could Fly

I've written about my love for the artwork at many stations along the Los Angeles MTA train route. This piece is at the Civic Center/Grand Park Station on the Red Line, called I Dreamed I Could Fly by Jonathan Borofsky. There are six fiberglass figures that represent the artist who was inspired by his dreams. This is his quote about the piece: "I've had quite a few flying dreams in my lifetime. Many other people I've spoken to have had similar dreams. Sometimes I fly above it all, serene and rather enlightened...other times my flying dreams seem more like an escape from earthly concerns." This piece definitely stands out and makes an impression when you walk off the train or enter the station!

Thanks to @juliank and @photocontests for creating and curating #streetphotography!

IMG_6674.JPG

And here's a view from below to give some perspective:

IMG_6675.JPG

!steemitworldmap 34.0407 lat -118.2468 long Downtown Los Angeles CA d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Let's fly and follow our dreams. :)
I like the blue one, it's my fave color.

I love dreams about flying. I've also had several flying dreams and you know what? They reminded me very much of the characters you see here.

I hope you were flying over somewhere more interesting than a Los Angeles train station. :)

If I could fly to a Los Angeles train station right now and get the heck out of where I am currently staying I would do that in a heartbeat.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 04:04:24
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2773.42/3200.00
Total Photos: 160
Total comments: 100
Total contest wins: 39
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-photography-i-dreamed-i-could-fly


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh that’s so cool - flying people in the station. I’ve never dreamed that I am flying, or at least I don’t remember

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

What a surprise! Thank you so much!

Very cool, I imagine quite a few people in a rush don't even notice them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56