Colorful streets of Playa del Carmen, my current nomadic base in Mexico

in #streetphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi my Steemit fellows!

After posting photos and stories from many different countries and places, I realized I haven’t actually showed you my current hometown, the beautiful Mexican city of Playa del Carmen.

Located right in the middle of the famous Riviera Maya (between Cancun and Tulum), Playa del Carmen is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Mexico, offering a wide range of tourist activities, year-round sunny climate and stunning white-sand beaches washed by turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea.

I will definitely dedicate another, more detailed post to this city soon but for now, let me just show you a few, random shots from its streets as this is also my entry for today´s #streetphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.

IMG_20170922_093005.jpg
Mexican colors are everywhere (I took this image early in the morning, hence the absence of people)

IMG_20170922_094919.jpg
Portal Maya, the iconic sculpture landmark of Playa del Carmen

IMG_20170922_095214.jpg
Parroquia de Nuestra Señora del Carmen (Playa´s most famous church) in the background

IMG_20171021_134802.jpg
Many of Playa´s streets are decorated with impressive street art.
IMG_20170529_122433.jpg

IMG_20170922_090628.jpg
Just like most other cities in Yucatan, Playa also has its sculpture signs. This one is located close to the Quinta Avenida, the main boulevard.

IMG_20180109_151616.jpg
Traditional Mayan ritual known as Flying Mayans. Performed daily for tourists, it takes place next to the Portal Maya in the city center.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

sorry @phortun i have not read the article because i lost in the pictures. They are such a fantastic shots. thanks for sharing & have a nice day.

and now following you...

Thank you! :)

Playa del Carmen, one of the magical Mexican places!
I've been there a long time ago, so I am happy to see these photos!
Thanks 😃

I thank you for the nice comment :) More Mexican posts coming soon btw, stay tuned :)

Beautiful view, I really like to see his friend

Mexico is on my bucket list 🌮

Yeah, should be :) Very interesting and diverse place to visit ;)

Phenomenal photos, Petr. Man you're such a talented photographer. I am not just saying this, I mean it. Have you ever tried to approach magazines as National Geographic or Conde Nast Traveler with this kind of material? Man you never fail to impress me with your photos. Do you use a professional camera?

Aww, thanks man but I think you are overrating my skills way too much :) There are tons of much better, experienced photographers with great equipment here on Steemit. In fact, I am still yet to get a real camera, a vast majority of my shots are just random cellphone captures :D But I definitely enjoy taking photos and I am determined to improve my skills (and get a camera!) :D

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-01-11-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 15:13:26
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 380.97/400.00
Total Photos: 33
Total comments: 103
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.56 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great shots and interesting post!

Thanks! Glad you liked it :)

Very nice and colorful pictures :)

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43