Sort:  

“King Johns Plunder?” Seem appropriate. Really interesting photos. The mound is my favorite of these images – I love the dichotomy of manmade decay being overtaken by new growth, by natural life.

Nature always wins in the end. The mound covered up the rubble from the slums of the previous generation and in a weird twist, it will remain in place. The mound is protected from any removal plans?
Nature triumphs!

That is a weird twist…

I think it's the same everywhere... We have old buildings here which I feel are a part of the history of the place and should be preserved, and yet are being torn down for a super skyscraper which of course will sell for some millions more than what the old buildings would make... But what will we have years from now - towns and cities of skyscrapers with the history wiped out? Sad...

That is the way of it at the moment. There was a lot of money in property development. It did not last and now we are left with the results. Loads of housing that no one can afford and with no one living in them. There are 700,000 empty properties in the UK? 10's of 1,000's in London alone.

Well, I have to say I preferred the look of the wooded knoll. Just what soviet era dinosaur did they get to design the new buildings? Sorry if you are partial to them. LOL. I will take my foot out of my mouth then but I loved the glass tower peeking through the middle.It reminds me of the building here called the Wall Center. Jean Claude Van Damme lived there once ...Unknown.jpeg

The form of architecture that was used to build Robin Hood Gardens is known as 'Brutalist' and i can see what you mean about the soviet connection. These buildings were supposed to be 'streets in the sky' of course it never really worked out that way? In the late 60's they were all the rage?

The idea behind it was to reduce the amount of crowding in social housing and make more space for people and inside the flats were very spacious unlike the rabbit holes that these modern flats offer.

In 20 years time we will probably be complaining about the new builds today. I have owned a new build property and couldn't get rid of it fast enough. The build quality is just awful.

'Jean Claude Van Damme' don't tell me that is a selling point? lol

Indeed it was ... I think he know owns I condo in coal harbour. I saw him on Davie St. once, he smiled at me; I was giddy for a week:):):)

Haha you're a big fan of the Van Damme I take it?

I like my karate and he is a master kicker but back then the response surprised me:)

I guess he's just a nice guy and threw you a smile. :)
Not a 'brutalist' to get back on topic haha.

I think he may be a 'charmer' and not brutalist ... yes:)

I like you comment about king john lol

Thanks cryptobox, King John was a bad 'un for sure.
Some things never change?

maybe they can make a movie out of this or did they already lol

very beautiful scenery

Thanks, you like demolition sites?

Thanks, I like them too.

Too bad they didn't name the mound Sherwood!

that would be the right name!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 19:26:20
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 269.20/200.00
Total Photos: 42
Total comments: 39
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=molometer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=robin-hood-gardens-what-an-ironic-name


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84