Lady with Lunchbox and Shadows, After a Hard Day’s Work … Pushkar, India – Street Photography

The long shadows stretching out on the road behind this brightly clothed Rajasthani lady show that it is the evening of the day. 

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

A hard day’s labor … with a good home-cooked meal

For this lady carrying her tiffin lunchbox, it was the end of what was probably another hard day of labor, most likely at a construction site. The tiffin consists of a stack of 3–4 separate containers, which are latched together to enclose the contents. The bottom tier usually contains rice, while the other 2 contain some tasty vegetable dishes.    

Many Indians prepare their own tiffin lunch and carry their lunchbox to work. Even many white-collar workers take a 4-tier tiffin to the office. (Of course, the tiffin lunch of any white-collar worker will have been prepared by their domestic helper.) 

A bright spot

As you can see, lower-caste laborers such as this lady do not have special “work clothes” of any sort. In fact, many of them have only one set of clothing. If they are lucky at the end of their day, they might have a chance to wash it at a pump or a spigot. Maybe not.   

But at the very least, their vibrantly colorful clothing provides one bright spot in the rather drab environment.
Location – Pushkar, Rajasthan, India, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Street Photography contest.
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-27T08:09:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 837.01/1600.00
Total Photos: 108
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

REALLY GREAT PHOTO, love the colours 😊😊 have a wonderful day, GREETINGS!

So beautiful

Here is, as I see it, another fine shot. At the risk of being seen as a flatterer, the single element I love about your photograph is that you make kings and queens out of ordinary people like this lady in the photograph. I love how your identified with her, telling her story in the process. Kudos.

Hmmm, my intention is not necessarily to make ordinary people into "kings and queens," but I'm thrilled if my writing makes them appear to be "noble."

Thanks, and glad you like it.

Always my pleasure sir.

PS: I missed the flight in a long while and got booted to the next round at the airport.

Damn! But that's part of the travel / adventure we're on.

Sure. We advance. We conquer.

Great photo. It is these photos that can convey the life of a person. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличное фото. Именно такие фото собой способны передать всю жизнь человека. Удачи Вам и Любви.

All good photos of people should convey at least certain aspects of their lives. Thanks.

The photo on its own has a story to tell… Terrific street photography/portrait

Your article has been very illustrative, a few months ago I read a book entitled: "The white Masai", thanks to him I was awakened in my interest to know the culture of those who live in India and its surroundings. Many successes.

I am @RitaAsabati, Venezuelan, I have little time in steemit and I would like you to visit my profile, I have several photographs of my city, especially in a series called "A city in motion". I hope to have your support. Many successes.

Thanks, I'll check out your blog.

I will love to see you there. Thank you very much.

Even if their is so much poverty in india, indians never loose hope and try to live as happy as they can ....

Great Post and this is the first i have seen in the trending page from India. Keep it up...

Thanks. I hope more of such photos end up trending.

Yup surely they will

I like the photos that have some story behind it. This one is deffinitly one of them. Great job!

Yep, most photos have a story behind them, and I always find it interesting to read the stories. Glad you like it too.

Good portrait but the light looks little harsh to me, hope you process your entry before entering the contest, Good luck

Hmmm, as it says above, this IS my entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26