The Streets of Lisbon - Street Photography

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear friends from Steemit. I decided to take part of @juliank @photocontests Daily Photography contest, most specifically for the Street Photography Category. Thank you @leeart for encouraging me to do it!

I’m not sure if I can only enter 1 photo or more, but I have so many photos from the beautiful streets of Lisbon, I needed to share more with some back story.

I’m not a big city person but I keep going back to Lisbon. No matter how many times I go, I can always see new and beautiful things in this enchanting city. If you like peace and nature, you can find it there ; If you like shopping and busy life, you can find it there ; If you like culture and history, you can find it there! Well, I think you got my point.

Parque das Nações - Cable Cars View

IMG_4418.jpg

I took the photo above when I was in a cable car looking down to a walking path. The path goes into the beautiful Tejo river. It’s a wonderful place for joggers or walking wonderers! :)

23C690CC-5149-4E7B-972E-2906E270CCE2.JPG

Looking from a distance to the cable cars

The cable cars are located in a place called Parque da Nações (in English would be something like ‘Nations Park’). The story of this place is very interesting. Before 1998, it was a place with no more than oil refineries, warehouses, open dumps and slaughterhouses. Today, is one of Lisbon’s most modern districts, due to its complete rehabilitation in 98. So what happened in 1998? I thought you’d never ask! Expo 98 was one of the greatest events hosted in the city and the area of Parque das Nações was picked to be the house of the event’s innovative buildings and expositions. Cool, huh.

Chiado

93D4F4CE-19D9-4D3A-9069-93487AA0CC1A.JPG

If you want to see street art, antique looking roads and traditional houses, Chiado is the place to be. It’s also the place to be if you want to shop! Don’t be surprised if you find a high street store camouflaged in one of Portugal’s beautiful traditional and conserved houses.

The day I took this picture, I went to Chiado to shop, actually. I bumped into this sweet little gem road when I was casually walking up the high streets of the city. I couldn’t help but take a photo of it!

By the way, the little electric train in the photo is a (probably not working) “Elétrico”. I think this one was left there like a ‘monument’, but there’re working Elétricos you can hoop in and explore Lisbon. Here’s a photo of a working one. (I didn’t take one myself)

4FC88DF2-2CDC-49FE-9F69-82E05ADAB106.JPG

Last but not least: The incredible view of the city from Castelo de São Jorge ( “Saint Jorge’s Castle”, in English). I think this image talks for itself! If you have the opportunity of going to Lisbon, I recommend you seeing this view in person, as it’s such a breathtaking one!

Some of the images were taken with an iPhone 7s, others with an iPhone 8...

Have you ever been to Lisbon? If yes, what’s your favourite place? And if no, would you like to? Let me know in the comments :)


You can follow me on Twitter if you want to. I post quotes and things.

Other of my posts you may want to read:

How To Stay Creative – 10 Things You Can Do To Get Your Next Idea
How I Almost Gave Up On My Dog
Benefits Of Being Yourself And Things I Learnt From Not Being Myself

Sort:  

These are some gorgeous photos. I really love the photo of the street car with graffiti on the side. Nice work. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @leeart. Congratulations.

@julimattos as fotos são tuas?
Adorei as fotos, muito bom mesmo.
Abraço

Sim , são minhas :) muito obrigada! **

Put your great photos to good use lol! Here's an FAQ that I found. I hope this helps. https://steemit.com/blog/@juliank/photography-contests-frequently-asked-questions

That's a nice vantage point of taking photo of the interesting path. Does the water rise though? It sure looks nice to go for a jog or walk there. I think sunsets there are amazing.

Yess definitely! Thank you for the link, I will have a look, it will help for sure :) yes, I love the cable cars. Unfortunately in the day I went there it was cloudy, so I couldn’t get the sunset, but I bet it must be gorgeous. The water rises but I don’t think it goes over the path :)

The photos surely made me want to visit Lisbon. I hope I can someday.

You should, if you have the opportunity!!! :)

Very nice pictures, it is nice to see the view of the people that live in an area, thank you for sharing your views.

Thank you! When you live somewhere you start noticing small beautiful things :)

These are awesome photos. Will be sure to find some of these places when travelling there :)

Thank you! Yeah you should visit sometime :)

Lugares incríveis! Com certeza , Lisboa é um ótimo lugar para ir nas férias. Linda a primeira foto.Sucesso no concurso.

É mesmo!! Obrigada :)

Lisbon looks is beautiful, I have added it to my list of places to go. My favorite photo is the on taken from the cable car.

You should go if you have the chance. It's a really nice place :) Thank you!!!

I love those overlooking/ aerial shots, you captured them perfectly! Lisbon streets look interesting and even just walking around you see these beautiful structures :)

Thank you, I do love high up overlooking shots.. Yess, there's a lot of little things to find in Lisbon :)

Beautiful shots. thank you for featuring key spots.

Thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63