Going to the theatre - en masse

Yesterday, our local photography club (SIFC) had our monthly Saturday photo walk. The main purpose of the walk was to photograph street light trails in the Nanshan district, with the beautiful skyscrapers in the background.

But I made a mistake. I exited the subway at Exit E. The closest Exit to our gathering point was actually Exit G. Exit E is right next to Shenzhen Poly Theater (深圳保利剧院).

Pano_XGA.jpg

Outside, I was greeted by the largest crowd gathering I have seen in years (actually, that is not true, we see such crowd gatherings very often in China - but mostly on TV news during the temporary holiday migrations...).

I do not know what show they were gathering for, but it must have been a very popular show, and my timing was really bad - arriving there just as they were gathering to enter the theatre.

The theatre has very interesting architecture, and I noticed that the rim of the roof is fitted with mirror panels. Now, if you are following my (very sporadic) blog, you will remember that mirror and window reflections is one of the themes I like to photograph in my street photography. Having these themes is my way of being sensitive to recognising possible street photography opportunities.

(If you have not read my previous article about this mirror and window reflections, here is a link to that article:

So, for the next couple of minutes, my creative juices kicked in and the main goal for me being in Nanshan became a secondary goal...


DSCF1344_XGA.jpg
(Click to see larger image)


DSCF1346_XGA.jpg
(Click to see larger image)

The lady in green and white is not only reflected in 6 panels in the above photo, but she also appears in a panel in the photo below.

DSCF1348_XGA.jpg

(Click to see larger image)

These different angles/views of people or objects in the same photo is for me a form of cubism in street photography.

DSCF1354_XGA.jpg

(Click to see larger image)

Maybe my timing was actually spot-on.

Eventually, I managed to get myself to refocus on the main goal and walked to our meeting point.

The street light trail spot we visited was a great spot, and we all enjoyed trying to capture the correct moment to get an interesting photo.

DSCF1388_1024.jpg

Of all my attempts, I like this one the most.

Sort:  

Looks like a big gathering. I miss Shenzhen

Yes, hope you can visit in the future...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67