Cubism in Street Photography

in #photomag6 years ago

I talked about cubism in Street Photography some time ago. Here is the link to the previous article.

In my talk on Street Photography in July, I included a photo that I took a previous year in Hong Kong that mimics the cubism art movement of the early 20th century better.

This week, I noticed that the side wall of Wallmart in Luohu district is a panelled glass wall and I instantly decided that this would make for a great cubism photograph - but I wanted something extra - like people walking past with umbrellas to add that something extra. I decided to add this photo idea to my filing system (my memory filing system...) for a rainy day.

I did not have to wait too long.

Yesterday morning when we woke up, it was raining. I decided to use the opportunity to create my cubism photograph.

_XT23437_XGA.jpg

()

Just for reference, here is the photo I took in Hong Kong. This photo is actually of the roof ceiling on a sidewalk. The ceiling tiles are mirrors, and when you walk underneath it, you see a mirror image, although distorted, of the people walking on the sidewalk. I photographed it tightly cropped and then flipped it around to get a more normal look.

The problem with cubism in photography is that by its nature it will normally be a manipulated photo, thus not qualifying for street photography. But, by keeping an eye open for scenes like these, it is possible to use cubism also as a technique in street photography.

This is my weekly street photography blog entry.

Hope you like it.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-17T06:14:15
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 833.22/1600.00
Total Photos: 49
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

this is really beautiful angle of street..
awesome photograph...

wonderful window relextion;
so clear, awesome photography ❤
and thaks for your valuable support

Really lovely photoshoot 📷..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33