Travel - Netherlands - Amsterdam Part #1 - Bicycles & Marijuana

After our awesome time in Bruges we traveled via trail to the infamous city of Amsterdam in the Netherlands (aka Holland). We booked an awesome little hotel next to a canal (on the South end of the Amsterdam central canal ring), close to the popular Vondelpark and within 50m of Leidseplein.

Leidseplein (aka Leiden Square) gave us the first taste of the Amsterdam vibe. This historic square is always upbeat, has a great night life and is also the arena for many awesome street performers.

As you might have guessed if you read my blog, we normally see how much of city we can cover by foot on our first day there. Amsterdam was no exception and we walked most of the inner city and, of course, went to see the Red Light district during the night. I found the disctrict/streets very sad and depressing - it is definitely my least favourite part of Amsterdam.

You don't have to be in Amsterdam long to realize that they have two things in abundance: bicycles and Marijuana. Although I'm not a smoker, you cannot walk the streets of Amsterdam without knowing the smell of Marijuana, Cannabis, Dagga, or whatever you want to call it. You even get green Cannibis lollypops in fresh fruit stores... what a crazy place!

Tell me what you think and stay tuned for more?!

IMG_0260.JPG

IMG_0252.JPG

IMG_0265.JPG

IMG_0271.JPG

IMG_0278.JPG

IMG_0283.JPG

IMG_0290.JPG

IMG_0291.JPG

IMG_0296.JPG

IMG_0318.JPG

IMG_0324.JPG

Camera: Canon EOS 400D
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

More in this series on our travels to Belgium and the Netherlands:

[1] https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@extremejogging/travel-belgium-bruges-part-1-exploring-by-foot
[2] https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@extremejogging/travel-belgium-bruges-part-2-canal-tour-and-sleepy-dogs
[3] https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@extremejogging/travel-belgium-bruges-part-3-architecture-exploration
[4] https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@extremejogging/travel-belgium-bruges-part-4-chocolates-and-churches

Keep exploring...

@extremejogging

!steemitworldmap 52.363375 lat 4.882243 long Amsterdam D3SCR

Sort:  

the best haven for weed smokers .. Someday I wish to visit there and smoke openly in public places

You'll definitely be able to do that. They actually have weed menus at these "coffee shops".

I heard a lot about Amsterdam.. hopefully someday I can experience it in real 😁 I'm poor so I can't afford it but let's see what cryptocurrency and steemit has to offer me for my finance

beautiful hotel next to canal wow 😍

Great pictures! We also usually walk everywhere in a new city and discover the place on foot.
We were in Amsterdam last year and had a marijuana cookie there, it was my worst experience ever with weed...
But Amsterdam is still my favourite European city :)

Thanks for sharing your experience. ;)

It is a great city, but it is very tough for me to choose between great cities like Paris, Lisbon, Barcelona and Rome in Western Europe. My favourites in Eastern Europe are definitely Budapest and Prague. ;)

Wow what a beautiful country it is. Always wish to go magical places like this. I am from he 3rd world and always get attracted to western countries like this. The lights, streets and cleanliness everything is so great up there.

Everything is perfectly arranged and the atmosphere is bit cold and can be felt with the photos that you have uploaded up there.

Thanks for sharing, nice pics and keep traveling!

Agreed, South Africa, where I'm from is also classified as a 3rd world country. I love travelling in Europe experiencing new cultures, meeting new people and admiring the rich history and epic architecture. I mean, many of the building are much older than South Africa itself. ;)

That being said, I can only travel for a month or two before I want to go back home. Even though Europe is ok, South Africa is amazing from a diversity perspective - people and landscapes. Not even to talk about our awesome weather. ;)

Amsterdam is a beautiful city - nice pictures btw :)
The first time we traveled to Amsterdam we also slept in a small hotel near Leidseplein and Vondelpark. One of the best memories was when we laid down in the park when the sun came out and a guy played on his guitar and sang to it for hours.
I understand your opinion about the Red Light District, can't understand the hype for it...
Greetings and write on! :)

Thanks for sharing your experience... sounds amazing. Keep exploring... Jaco

@extremejogging
Brings back many great memories when I traveled there as a student. Just make sure you pay attention to which bridges you cross as it can get very confusing, lol especially in my young days of having a toke, that did not help. lol

safe travels, enjoy :-)

Haha, thanks for sharing. Very true.

I've heard a few scary (and fascinating) stories from friends of mine in Amsterdam. It is best to go out with a few reliable friends. ;)

Your picts waking my memory up about my experience in The Netherlands. I miss Amsterdam and other city there so much :')

IMG-20180105-WA0005.jpg

I also just post a pict in s'-Hertogenbosch

I think good travel for you. And thank you this post.

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

a view of a very beautiful and peaceful city, I so want to go on vacation to Amsterdam. really you are showing a very beautiful travel photos

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=extremejogging
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-netherlands-amsterdam-part-1-bicycles-and-marijuana


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41