You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Street Photography you never know what you will see in NYC

NYC is just amazing. So different from any other place I've ever been. I came to love the energy of it when I would visit. The first time I went there -- under protest -- I stayed in the hotel room the whole time, scared to death to leave it. That was the week-end a family from a state near me (Utah, maybe?) was mugged in the subway and the son was killed defending his mother. It was all over the news and reinforced my belief that my dearest wish was to survive this place long enough to escape from it.

But then we discovered the joy of Memorial Day and Labor Day week-ends -- the beginning and end of summer, when the city seems to evacuate down to almost a ghost town as residents leave on holidays of their own. I remember standing in the window of our high-rise hotel -- (like there's any other kind in NYC) -- it was early in the morning and the streets were practically deserted. One lone taxi way in the distance crossed the intersection in front of me. It was eerie ... like something from On the Beach.

But, you could get reservations in all the great restaurants with no problem. You could get tickets to wonderful Broadway plays -- again, no problem. The only time we had any trouble was getting tickets to Phantom of the Opera -- for obvious reasons. But the hotel concierge came up with a pair of great seats for that night's performance for $100 each -- and we grabbed them!!

I came up with the courage to try riding the subway -- not going anywhere, just to say I'd done it. I saw the Dakota and Jackie O's apartment building, Central Park, the Statue of Liberty, the UN, the WTC while the towers were still standing. (Those building were massive!! When they fell, I could hardly believe my eyes.) We saw Radio City Music Hall, Madison Square Garden, MOMA, St. Patrick's cathedral.

I enjoyed my several other trips there immensely. But I was also glad to get home. Your photos bring those memories back. This one, especially. It is so where-else-but-NY in its flavor and wry implications. Good job, BTW. You can't help but smile.

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

I to was overwhelmed and nervous when I first came to NYC I tlreally was so uncomfortable here I wanted to do my one year and get back to the field I honestly preferred the post war zones I was in previously to NYC

But I guess I have got used to it since I have been here for over 15 years now and feel comfortable here

But I still love heading back to my coastal CT city each day lol

I to was overwhelmed and nervous when I first came to NYC I tlreally was so uncomfortable here I wanted to do my one year and get back to the field I honestly preferred the post war zones I was in previously to NYC

But I guess I have got used to it since I have been here for over 15 years now and feel comfortable here

But I still love heading back to my coastal CT city each day lol

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.33$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25