Strawberry Craving | Entry for the Easy Mini Art Contest #1 - Let's Draw Strawberries

in #strawberryart6 years ago

Ello, Steemians, today I present you my entry for @jacinta.sevilla's Mini Art Contest where the theme was - strawberries!

done.png

The concept behind this drawing is based on a childhood past time of mine where I used to eat a whole bunch of strawberries and then smear the juice over my lips like a kind of gloss. Edible makeup! It also got me thinking back to one of the trips me and my family took up to the chilly Cameron Highlands where strawberries grew. I actually got lost in the strawberry farms because I was just in awe at the sheer amount of them as a child.

Process

nyeh1.png

I do my usual steps of first sketching out my composition. In the lining portion, I decided I wanted to do something a little different. Since I enjoyed doing the flat colouring for a previous contest entry last year (lol), I wanted to incorporate it a little bit with my regular drawing method.

In this case, I wanted the plantation, the strawberries and the hair of the girl to be flat coloured. I drew glasses on this character in the sketch but I wanted them to be white and flat so I'll be adding that near the end of my process.

nyeh2.png

I do my regular process of colouring for the lined areas of the drawing. While doing the shading, I try to keep the base colours fairly warm (reds, pinks, oranges) but with a cool tone. This is to reference the bright reds I saw in the strawberry farm that contrast with the cool weather from my memories.

Before I move forward, I want to explain a bit of the references I used for this image. I don't really colour with cool tones very often. My palette tends to be fairly warm and bright. This time around I wanted to do something cool and a little bit more pastel-ish.

maxresdefault.jpg
Screenshot from the show, Steven Universe

So I used this screenshot from Steven Universe as my point of reference. It even has strawberries in it! Lucky me!

nyeh3.png

Then I moved on to do a lot of the "flat" areas of the drawing. Unlike the lined areas, I tried to make them a bit more soft and textured. I didn't want to overwork it too much because I want the eye to quickly register the shapes in the picture without much distraction. Plus, I'll be blurring the final image a little soon so I didn't want to put in work at a spot where it's not really going to be noticed in a bit.

nyeh4.png

Remember the glasses? Here they are! A simple white framed pair with pink lenses just to tie everything together. I thought that the typical black frames would feel a bit too heavy for this drawing. I also added some lines to the leaves to add a bit more...leafness.

Lastly, added a bit of a Gaussian blur and my little signature stamp in the top right corner. 2018 edition now.

Process in GIF form below

strawberrycontestprocess.gif

That is it for now. Hope you liked and enjoyed reading it. If you have time, do check out the other entries as well and to support the contest as well~

See you next post~

U5dtkYqckewxmNRfvjCFDQrVJU8Hwgi.gif
DQmQ599LwdiqJJw5oko4MK4PHcPJCZkvk8ScrW9ojcJfGX9.png

Sort:  

Very appealing style..great colouring.. love the detailed step by step explanation... nice job hanbun.

Thank you very much, @aurah uwu

great as always hanbun!!

Thank you for the support as always, @rambai! =D

welcome hihi

love the tone. the girl's pretty sassy as well. all the best for the competition! :)

I really love the colors, especially in the hair! This contest sounds like fun - I hope there's still time for me to participate too!

Thank you, @rideordiestudio! I believe there's still around 2 days left(?) You can check out for sure via the link in the first paragraph =)

Awesome, thanks! There wasn't a clear date/time but I hope I can come up with something anyway lol. Good luck on your submission!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hanbun to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Ahhhhh too good! Upvoted and followed. My sis is soooo happy with the talents flocking to the contest!

Thank you @noellesevilla! I'm just glad to contribute. Your sis has done a fantastic job creating initiatives to foster the talent on SteemIt <3

I love the colours so much! (/◕ヮ◕)/

Thank you very much, @dantekuro! I like yours too. The grown up strawberry shortcake X3

Nice ! Its so colorful!

Thank ya, @aa10! =D

Amazing your art GZ :)

Thank you, @jzerpa! =3

oh god, this is totally sweet, you have done such a great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97