Exchange Strategies

in #strategy6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-04-04 at 18.20.32.png

I'm thinking about this in the context of @SteemCampUk, but it's an idea that will be around for a while. As long as we have a mixed economy of volatile crypto assets and currencies, we're not going to have a simple life of frictionless exchanges of value. So how do you manage the situation where everything is priced in something else and the prices can go up or down but at some fixed point you need to collapse it all and make a payment in the real world?

For the last few weeks I've been watching people pay for @steemcampuk in SBD, STEEM and £Sterling while the price of the first two in terms of the third kept steadily sinking. At some point next week, I'm going to get a bill, payable in Sterling and I'm going to have to turn this diverse pot into one thing and pay up.

I expect that in the immediate future, this pattern is going to become more prevalent rather than less, so I want to explore what some good strategies are for thinking about it and making it work for us rather than against us.

This is the data we've got at the moment (1800GMT on 04/04/2018):

STEEM Price (£): 1.174
SBD Price (£): 1.626

STEEM in pot: 84.359
SBD in pot: 63.591
£ in pot: 52.00

So the current total value of the pot is: (84.359 * 1.174)+(63.591 * 1.626) + 52 = £254.436

The question is:

Given that the prices will change unpredictably, how do we maximise the £ we have say, next Monday, when the bill arrives?

Ignore for the moment the possibility of more people coming and more going into the pot, that's not the issue at hand. What I want to know is how do you best think about and deal with the uncertainty around the total value of the pot as it stands and what principles you might use to maximise that value in £Sterling terms for a set date in the future.

You could generalise this problem to anything where you have to raise a certain amount of fiat at a fixed time, but you want to collect from various sources in STEEM and SBD.

I can see a few pathways:

  1. Keep everything as it is and sell the SBD/STEEM immediately before paying the bill. Keep crossing your fingers that the STEEM/SBD prices are going to keep going up for the next week or so.

  2. Turn all the STEEM into SBD and sell when you believe you've hit a maximum or the amount that you need to pay out.

  3. Turn all the SBD into STEEM and sell when you believe you've hit a maximum or the amount that you need ot pay out.

  4. Turn everything into BTC (or your favourite altcoin) and HODL until the due date in the hope that that will rise more quickly than anything in the period.

  5. Sell the STEEM and SBD for ££ as you receive it, accepting that the price will go up and down.

Maybe you can think of other options. Which one would you choose and why?

I think the reason it's difficult to think about is that you have three variables (SBD, STEEM, BTC) that are fairly independent of each other but are all equally uncertain. And the answers boil down, I think, to predictions about the market and then preferences about whether you try to convert between assets to take advantage of market movements or whether you just accept that the prices are uncertain and build in plenty of contingency.

But I come back to asking - Is there anything more to this than preference and prediction?

What do you think is the most rational way to deal with an issue like this, and why?

Happy brain-crunching!

Sort:  

These exactly the sort of questions that paralyse me @lloyddavis and since I've been wanting to purchase I have another currency transaction in the equation, that of Sterling to Euros! 😢

I started buying using the averages method but after a couple of purchase BTC went up and I stopped. Then it started dropping and I never knew where to get in again.

I think I did half a trade, i.e. I have some BTC that I never got around to changing to Steem and I have some SBD that I haven't powered up (although that easier at the moment as I'm getting >1 Steem per SBD) and I still have some Euros that never got traded to BTC or something that can be traded to Steem.

So it's all a bit of a mess and, since BTC and Steem were on the rise again I've still ground to a halt.

The moral of the story is, I think, you need a strategy before you start and then you need to stick to it! 😊

Ah yes, "look before you leap"!

Unfortunately I seem to only remember that once I've leapt without looking... :D

Or in my case I leap and then hold onto the ledge because I've changed my mind and then just dangle there @lloyddavis! 😂

LOLOLOLOL dangle - yes i know the feeling too!!!! hahahahaha

yep - i agree! @lloyddavis i think i see what you're asking... but i would basically say -

if you believe that steem will go back up - hodl it :) pay the bill with currency (euros) that will have more stability so you don't have the chance of losing out on an opportunity.

and just keep the steem in your wallet so it continues to increase...( if you do believe that it will go up... and i do!)

is that what you're asking?

Yes, I was thinking that some of the issue is about cashflow and having enough ready money to cover sterling bills and retain the other currencies as assets.

Helpful Thanks @Iloyddavis for sharing ..
Nice strategies (Y)
Keep sharing

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Personally Id just hold the steem and pay in fiat. Then use the steem to power up yr own account.

Simplest option.

this breaks my brain. i don't think there is an ultimate silver bullet because this stuff is so volatile BUT i do think we need to open this topic up more because some traders and asset / investment types must frequent these spaces -- i'm sure they have great ideas but i bet it involves watching four screens and putting in buy and sell orders :)

personally we just need more services that are able to be paid in the same crypto systems that we use -- like this morning, i just used bitrefill to get a topup coupon for my data usage for my 4g, it's probably not cheaper but it's more convient and gives me another life line to make sure i'm ONLINE, without that i can't earn more...

wanna get a virtual chat together with say two more people about this? i can host it, thank you again for putting on steemcamp, also, do you have enough funds for the bill matey?

Thank you. Yes, in principle, and I'd love to do more chat stuff with you here.

I'm working a lot this week and next week we've got a week in Portugal, but after that definitely lets get something pinned down.

I would love to be able to just give Impact Hub the STEEM/SBD we've got and for that not to be just passing the headache on to them. We'll get there, I'm sure, I'm in a room right now where they're bashing out how these sorts of things will work, really, legally.

I'll write something tomorrow probably about the money, I've got enough, I'm going to explain how I'm going to deal with it. It's great fun.

fantastic, good to know. be safe. speak soon. keep us up to date on that info as that's the next big leap. crossing the human crypto value exchange without fiat -- at the moment it's all a bit gandalf. ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05