Cornflakes to Cure Masturbation

in #strange6 years ago

masturbation.jpg

John Harvey Kellogg had numerous methods to prevent masturbation. Most of them would be considered torture by today's standards. Some of Mr. Kellogs methods were tested, while others never made it into practice.

Like most people of that time, John saw masturbation as a sin. He also saw sex as a sin. He thought that anyone who engaged in sexual activity was damned to hell for eternity. Mr. Kellogg and his wife abstained from sex for their entire marriage because of Johns extreme beliefs. They did, however like children, so they chose to adopt.

Mr. Kellogg had also come up with numerous other methods to stop masturbation. For boys, he suggested piercing, and threading silver wire through the foreskin. He believed that this would cause extreme pain when the male subject obtained an erection. His belief was that once a boy felt the pain caused by an erection, he would never make the decision to become erect again.

The most common method of stopping female masturbation was just as strange as his method for boys. He would take a highly corrosive acid and apply it to the female clitoris. He believed that this would cause pain when the clitoris was touched and therefore stop girls from touching themselves. With time, it would totally ruin the vagina.

The methods that I just discussed would kill two birds with one stone. They would stop masturbation as well as sex. The cornflakes method, however, was a little less extreme.

Mr. Kellogg believed that foods high in flavor would cause desire for them. People would crave these foods, just as they crave sex. He believed that this desire was somehow linked to sexual desire. If he could do away with the desire for flavorful foods, then he could cure sexual desire.

Mr. Kellogg set out on a mission to create a food completely void of all flavor. He first tried a mixture of oats, and corn meal before finnaly settling on corn flakes. This was a success. The food was completely void of all flavor. He believed that he had finnaly found a cure for masturbation.

Over these first years of cornflakes, people had made numorous attempts to get him to add a little sugar to the recipe. He fought back hard, claiming that sugar would lead to masturbation. John was totally against cornflakes having any type of flavor.

A few years down the road, John partnered with his brother Will, to help him sell the cereal. Will had a much better business sense than John. He knew that people didn't want to eat something completely flavorless and costantly fought with John about this.

Eventually, Will and John had a falling out. Both blaming each other for the failure of cornflakes. Will then modified the recipe to contain sugar and sold it through his new company, which he called "The Kellogg Company". The brothers continued to argue over the subject for decades after the split. Thanks to the help of Will, we may all masturbate while eating our cornflakes.

Image source

Sort:  

Fascinating tale. More of those please. Perhaps you could make it into a cereal :)

Thank you. If I make it into my cereal, I'm not eating it. The only thing I put on my cornflakes is sugar.

Hahahaha... this is hilarious and laughable story. At least cereal with sugar won't choked u up and down...😂

Aahh.. I almost forget that I found your post through @k0wsk1, who featured you in the post on Pay It Forward Curation Contest week 12.

Oh. Nice. Can you send me a link? I want to check it out.

Well.. you already have it! Please consider to support each other too.. you're truly exceptional writer😉

This guy was crazy! Not sure I can ever look at a box of cornflakes again without picturing this.

I know. He was a total freaking nut case.

I came to your post because it was featured by @k0wsk1
I just threw out all the kellogg cereal in my house

You must really be into masturbation. 😆

LOL Kellogg's a quack and will not get any support from me

The original inventor actually stopped getting any profit from it after his brother stole the recipe from him and added flavor to it. Not much flavor, but a little.

Just enough to change the recipe. Then it became frosted flakes. The brother had a better sense of business.
lets face it though the one was a wacko to say the least

Oh... Absolutely. Not just because he had no business sense, but he had a ton of mental issues. If I lived at that time, I'm not sure that I would have tried frosted flakes either. Who knows what that frosting could have contained as a protest to his brothers anti masturbation views.

Hilarious....in Jamaica, we have a song that has taken the airways by storm with the punch line being "Cornflakes and buddy water"....buddy there means penis....when I saw the title of your post I thought of that song and immediately bursted into laughter....that was quite an invention man....keep it up.

Upvoted and followed.....oh I also found you through the pay it forward contest....as you know @k0wsk1 featured you.

I found it. LMFAO. I love it.

I've been to Jamaica. Loved Dunn's River falls. It was fun. Jamaica is beautiful. Love the culture. I know that some parts can be rough. Only thing I brought back was a wooden giraffe, a painting and some other small souvenirs. I know now that if I ever make it back there, I will not buy the cornflakes and buddy watter. 🤣. Love the song though. That poor girl. He just kicked back and relaxed as she layed there unsatisfied. LMFAO.

Indeed the pay it forward contest @pifc is indeed doing great things for persons on here......oh nice of you to find it....it is simply hilarious man, it gets you moving - "cornflakes and buddy water" dwl....thanks for the feedback on your visit to my home country....it is really a beautiful place and we still have far to go with regards to some things back home....but nevertheless, it holds a special place in the hearts of many....re the song, i hope to hear more hilarious songs from him lol....hey but even your username is laughter for me....@big.ock.... :-D

I'm gonna have to look up the song. I'm so thankful that @k0wsk1 did that for me. It seems to be getting me noticed more than I ever could have done on my own.

Nooo way - what a story - It is fascinating how many people want to transfer their sick views to the world. Luckily I don't eat cornflakes ;) - I found you through the Pay it forward contest from @thedarkhorse where you are featured by @k0wsk1

Yeah, it really is. Thank you.

hahaha this is awesome! I grew up in a staunch Catholic household and my mom always bought Corn flakes and powdered skim milk...I heard my dad say "f#ck" long before I heard him say "sex" :)

I found your post because @k0wsk1 featured you in our Pay it forward contest; you should consider joining us too :)

I'm going too soon. I was actually trying to think of who to enter. I have one in mind. Need a second.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51