StoryTrax - The Adventures I See in Music - 001 Graffiti Glitch

in #storytrax8 years ago (edited)

Every song tells a story to me. Fascinating visuals broadcast through my mind like an IMAX presentation when I close my eyes and put my headphones on. I'd like to give you a glimpse into what I see, so feel free to listen along as I present the stories I've found while listening to some of my favorite tracks.

001 - Graffiti Glitch


She darted between the two flickering street lights and raced down the alley. The pavement was uneven, scarred from years of trash pickups and the neglect of city council. Her hydrophobic neon green hoodie kept most of the rain off, but her shoes were soaked through, not having much for drainage. Didnt matter though, she was near her target.

Slinging her backpack off of her shoulder, she threw her side out and hip-checked the end of the alley, using the wall to absorb most of her momentum. She was far more worried about fishing the spraycan out from one of the inner pouches of her bag then she was about any personal safety at this point. If they caught her before she was done it wouldn't matter much anyway.

But this was no ordinary graffiti tag for the resistance. This was the next phase. Shaking the can, the iconic rattle carried an additional high-pitched whine as the micro-fusion bead inside fired up the engines of the millions of nanites. She lowered her gas mask and ensured the chin strap was secure, she couldn't risking breathing those suckers in.

She'd sprayed it hundreds of times before. Deftly she began to outline the portal rune, a strange combination of tribal knotwork and circuit board tracings on to the wall. The spraycan hummed as the fluorescent stream fused technological wonder and forbidden alchemy to the bricks of the alley.

Sirens rang out in the distance. The envoy's call was ominous and clear, the gig was up. Almost immediately, gunshots thundered through the streets in response. Hiding was no longer an option, the war had begun. Focused on her task, the last traces of the rune were sprayed, ending with a circle around the emblem to activate the program.

Two envoy soldiers turned to yell at her, but their shouts ordering for her surrender and compliance were drowned out by the crackling madness of the rune activating. The agent looked over her shoulder as the envoy soldiers raised their guns. An eternity rang out in that half-second when she locked eyes with them, staring at her own death incarnate.

A blinding blue light flashed down the alley. The envoy soldiers opened fire, sending a hail of flechettes down the charged barrels of their mag-rifles, but not a single needle found its mark. The agent was already gone, leaving only the crackling sound of nanites running through their self-destruction sequence and the mark of the resistance in glowing paint on the wall.

If you have a great vision when listening to a song, tag it StoryTrax and let me know! I'd love to hear, see, and read the stories you have to tell!

Sort:  

I'm sure the song is excellent. But to let you in on a secret, I can't hear shit in the thing.

Jeeeebus mang - I wish I could write like that. Great post Sir!

I appreciate your kind words. Hopefully I'll make a bit of a series out of this. I get to post my favorite tracks AND get to flex my writing abilities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30