Why I Went "Plant-Based" Why I Don't Use The V-Word & The Pad-Thai Existential Meltdown | (Text & Audio Versions) #texttosteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #storytelling7 years ago (edited)

GitHub Logo

Quick! Before you start, if you'd like to LISTEN to this post instead of reading it, scroll down to the bottom of this post where you'll find a soundcloud player- Thanks for listening!

Last month I was at the eye doctor of all places and was answering some general health and wellness questions when I mentioned that eating too much Tofu over the winter gave me awful hormonal acne on my chin. She absolutely LIT UP, "Are you VEGAN!!? She asked excitedly.

I replied, "No, but I eat like one."

When I started eating Vegan about 8 months back I insisted (and pretty much still do) on calling it a Plant-Based Diet. Although Vegan is the easiest and most direct term to use to communicate what I currently eat and don't eat, I'd rather not be associated with a group and the stigmas that come with it.

My newest favorite steemian superwoman, the lovely @everlove, just wrote an awesome post about how dietary labels are dividing us, and I ended up writing so much in her comment's section I figured it was time to devote a full length post to the topic.

Why Not "The V Word?"

Well, because as soon as you say "The V Word" it seems you're either asking for a debate, or for the snap judgment that you're looking down on the kid in the park enjoying an ice cream cone. You evil Vegan you.

This isn't my first experience feeling this way. I grew up Christian, and have dealt with this very same desire to separate myself from stigmas brought on by a title nearly all my life. "Nice to meet you, Dayle, what do you go to?" Oh, how I wish I could have answered Ringwood "Faith-Based" School instead of Ringwood Christian School.

Being associated with a group that's known for being judgemental, narrow-minded, extreme and who's looking to make converts of everyone around them isn't fun, even when I can wholeheartedly say I feel pretty incredible, have lost some LBS and have a ridiculous amount of focus each day.

Overall I can say I've But also, I miss Cheese.

So, Why The Swap?"

Somewhere around mid-January of this year, I started regular yoga and meditation and subsequently feeling more in tune with my body, mental state, and emotions. I've always been an equalizer, and when things feel out of balance, I realize that I start to adapt my behaviors. For me, the whole planet seems to have gone haywire in the last 18 months. I don't need to get into the details, you have access to the same Internet I do.

Things feel, well, kinda screwed up. On a global scale that is.

And so, wanting to do SOMETHING, ANYTHING, with limited financial resources I had, I decided to stop consuming animal products. For a long time, I'd known about the horrors of factory farming and I thought, what if I just ate plants for awhile??

In the beginning of March, Mom took me out for a Thai dinner to celebrate my belated birthday. I ordered tofu pad, Thai, "hold the egg". The waitress asked, "are you VEGAN?" THE V WORD. I panicked. Having never been asked that before, and knowing she wasn't looking for my “I prefer the term plant-based or anti factory farming” diatribe, I awkwardly said "Yeah, sort of...

Doing her due diligence, she informed me that Pad Thai contains fish sauce, (which honestly I should have known, I’ve made it myself zillion times) and wasn’t a Vegan meal, I sheepishly told her "It's fine...".

IMG_4814.JPG

The very Pad Thai from this story. Yes it's diferent from the Pad Thai in the cover image. I like Pad Thai ok!!?!

I know how silly it sounds, but I really beat myself up about that for a long time. Until that moment, I hadn’t bought or consumed any animal product. I felt like I let myself down, and the whole ordeal threw my brain into a moral and existential meltdown, analyzing what a teaspoon of fish sauce equals out to in terms of carbon footprint and what percentage of the Earth I had destroyed with my choice, until a very dear human being reminded me, life is about BALANCE. You do what you can, when you can. You try to be better every day, and leave things better than you found them.

Funny how I turned an act founded in love and personal responsibility, into a self-condemning, and legalistic set of rules almost on default. (kinda like religion does no?)

For Me, It Comes Down To Respect.

My family keeps asking me If I'll ever eat meat again, to be honest, if I could afford meat and cheese from grass-fed, free range animals who came from farms who operated ethically and with respect to the environment and the animals, I'd be manning the BBQ as we speak.

For me, I refuse to be on auto pilot with food anymore.

And so, in my all or nothing ENTP brain, it's easier to cut it all out than calling up all the local pizzerias to see who's got the most sustainably sourced and ethical mozzarella sticks.

I was raised to always "say grace" before every meal and while I can't say I still "pray" over my food, I think it's a super important practice to take a moment, to appreciate the time, energy and resources that were expended along the supply chain to bring you the nourishment that's in front of you. To proceed with respect and thankfulness that you even have a meal in front of you in the first place and that your body works well enough to earn you coins to be able to trade for said nourishment.

ESPECIALLY if that chain of effort and impact included taking a life in order to sustain your own.

If you’re Vegan or Vegetarian, Plant Based, or Pizza Based, I’d love to know what you think… I'm Open to a discussion in the comments below but I ask that you please be kind and respectful of ALL viewpoints.

Until next time!
Love,
A Temporary Herbivore

Interested in learning more about @texttosteem? Want your own posts read by a Jersey Gal or British Guy for your posts? Check out this post: humble.link/texttosteem

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» INSTARARA «
» VOICE OVRZ «
Sort:  

I was vegetarian for quite some time and I got a fair amount of teasing about it, now I am on the opposite side and I eat everything and I have seen some scathing looks from vegans. How we sustain ourselves is such a personal choice, we should all be free to eat however we choose without criticism, nice post, EAT WHAT YOU WANT! Also I listened to this and it was pretty sweet, my eyes are tired! What a great idea :)

I know I always prefer audio books so I really enjoy offering the same when I can. I'm sorry the Vegans were mean to you, also I might as well apoligize for any Christian jerks you've run into while I'm at it. ;)

Haha only met a few of each don't feel responsible for them, their a pretty big group lol.

There is quite a bit of evolution in humanity since I began skipping out on meat about 25 years ago. Eating a vegetarian diet was "wacky" and "unhealthy" at best! This is only one facet of our lives that we as humans judge one another. Gratefully we have control of what we put in our bodies -- at least as adults. Choosing healthier and fresher options can really change one's life, but not need to force it onto others. Glad to see you here @juliakponsford!! Thanks for sharing the love!

I agree, I think a lot of the pushy types have good intentions because they really want folks to feel as good as they do, but you've got to get people figure out what works best for them. Also, guilt is a form of dark magic I refust to participate in ;) Good Wizarding only for me

It's hard not to share something that has profound impact on life. Living it is the answer! Dark magic is real--I can feel you too are shining the light!

Very very real you're right. :D I try to do my best with what I can and optimize with what I have <3

Sounds like a very sustainable solution! <3

Dayleeo is one of my favorites!

I can see why you two gravitate toward one another. Blessed connections happening here on Steemit! I'm grateful to connect with you too @juliakponsford.

Yes! I have joined a discord group for Minnows and that's where I met dayleeo! I have also met tons of other really cool people it is a fantastic community! Great fun to connect with you too, can't wait for the next Collab!

I went to discord a few times and then keep leaving it behind. I'm sure there are some very high value things happening there, but it feels a lot like chaos to me!! This Steemit community is really incredible. My experience at Steemfest was so impactful as the people were really just like family. I"m grateful to connect with you both and so glad we're playing together. More to come!

Discord is pretty chaotic but the private messaging feature is very useful especially for organizing projects and collabs! If steemit had a PM feature that would be very useful, unfortunately it's lacking right now.

SteemitChat has a PM feature which is straight up simple. I have made some connections on Discord and my experience there in connecting was awesome. Perhaps I'll make it back that way one day soon.

Dawwws- Hi @everlove & @juliakponsford feeling the love this morning as I type sleepily <3 Awesome to see you both here in the same place!- Feel like I just walked into a bar... *"where everybody knows your naaaaaaame".

Hehehe--here we are together--what magnificence!!!

The music I used for the backing track for this post is called "Name For You" by The Shins. One of my all time favorite tunes...

Enjoy what makes you happy I say with the minimum of hurt for the collective. <3

Thanks for sharing. :)

I think I'm pizza or kebab based with a side of tea.

<3

Lol tea earlgrey hot based??

Earl grey flavored kebab pizza.

Make it so.

Lol sounds like something neelix would cook up

Run as you may! You cannot escape...the Almighty Bunghole!

I can make you earl grey based coconut milk icecream - it's yummy =D You'll love it! <3

That sounds interested! <3

Yes, yes it was! ;)

This post has received a 28.08 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @juliakponsford. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

thanks @juliakponsford! <3 you da best!

This post received a 1% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I like calling myself "plant-based" so that when I fall off the wagon I don't get weird looks. I'm a terrible vegetarian/vegan but I'm really good for plant based!

Haha funny you say that, the eye doctor from my story told me she calles herself a "Flexi-tarian" I thought that was clever too haha- It's less about being perfect, and doing what works for your lifestyle, health and personal code of ethics <3- Thanks for your comment!

HI @dayleeo =D @everlove linked me in here when she saw me going all vegan over Steemit ;)

Honestly, without writing a book about it, I agree with both of you. I am connected to a many stereotype and I love it. I can hang out in any crowd I want but at the moment, I happen to be putting a huge helping hand behind the vegan community. Why? Well, most vegans aren't awful people and even more so, a lot of people don't have a damn label to fit into that means what they are. That's me in a nutshell. However, I insist on promoting people doing what they feel is right for their bodies, in their dietary choices so long as they are feeling good and getting health benefits, I am their cheerleader.

I know what it feels like to be at a restaurant and have this happen... Only for me I'm like, ya but no gluten, sugar, anything processed, is it organic? Basically a nightmare so, I mostly cook for myself haha

However, my cheese loving friend. I have been getting super into it lately and figured out a bunch of different cheeses. There is too little time in the day to post everything I want =D

I love this though, I say eat what makes you smile and if you want to get involved in #veganwednesday, a little contest I started (which is not just for vegans, but more of an open space for talks like this, recipes and general love to be shared opposed to the stereotypical animal welfare debate, I invite you to join our community every Wednesday my dear <3
XO

That's so awesome @heart-to-heart and thank you for the invitation. I really enjoy pushing the boundaries of what can be done with just plants and non processed foods. Like that AWESOME lasagna. My dad and brother, two of the biggest meat eaters you'll ever eat LOVE that recipe, they ask me if I'm making it every week now!

To me cooking minimally and cost effectively is such a fun challenge, and coming out with something as rich and filling as a full pan of lasagna from only plants is my kinda cooking!

Will definitely be on the look out for the contest! Thanks for stopping by love! 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35