THE CONTROVERSY OF LABELS - Separating and Dividing Ourselves By What We Eat!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Omnivore, Herbivore, Vegetarian, Ovo-Vegetarian, Lacto Vegetarian, Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian, Vegan, Pollotarian, Pescatarian, Raw Foodist, Breatharian....Am I missing anyone?

People really love their labels.  It seems to help people decipher who is who, what someone does, and what we can expect from them.


Food is a huge part of almost everyone's life.
Some people will eat almost anything, others are more discerning, others simply picky.
Some people have health issues or food allergies that dictate their food intake.
And some have ideas that keep them locked into a diet they believe will serve them best.



Our ideas about food often dictate our experience, and I think talking about our choices is of great value.  I'm bringing up this subject here on Steemit to discuss mostly our ideas about food, and the judgment that may accompany them.

In general, people have a lot of judgment on and about food...this is good, this is bad, this is right, this is wrong, this is best, this is worst, this is how people should eat and this is how they shouldn't.  Often these ideas are placed on others, believing that we have the best perspective, or even place them on ourselves and then feel guilty we do not live up to our own standards.


~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~


Many people gravitate to the @gardenofeden where I live and thrive.  
We have a couple of really top notch chefs, one of which I consider myself to be.
We grow a football field-size garden and many raised beds, we also have fruit trees and bushes,
nut trees and an abundance of naturally grown, uncultivated plants.


A sweet little pomegranate growing in the @gardenofeden.


It is extremely apparent that we eat healthy, high-vibe food, and share it prolifically with others,
including the homeless, local businesses, firemen, single mothers, and families in need,
as well as all those who pass through the gates at the Garden of Eden.

Often people form ideas that because we grow much of our own food,
we must have only organic food, that we are vegetarians or vegans,
and that meat is something that we, as wholesome and vibrant, high-vibe people, do not eat.

Blackberry bushes bursting with nutrition.


There are lots of expectations that people build up in their minds that eventually come to the surface.
We have had families uproot their entire existence to come be a part of our community,
basing their entire move on their assumptions of the food realities here,
only to be faced with the shattering of their uninformed images about us.  We have had people attempt to argue and belittle us, especially on the internet, because they are so staunch in their own viewpoints.


Now generally this upset does not come from meat eaters who eat most everything.  Meat eaters make poke fun at others who have a more focused diet, but generally go on their merry way at eating whatever they please.  In my experience, some "vegetarians" who believe eating meat is unethical, think others should be vegetarian too.  But, what I've noticed in my vast experience with many people and their eating habits, the most judgment comes from some strict "vegans" who make their choices not to eat meat or any animal products based on what is right, wrong, good or bad.  As their lifestyle choices are quite impactful in many ways, watching others make decisions, that from their perspective appear to be barbaric or unhealthy for humans, animals and the planet, can be downright offensive.


I have not eaten meat for almost 25 years, but I do not consider myself a vegetarian.
I have had people judge me for not eating meat...
judge me for eating eggs and dairy products...
judge me for not consuming certain kinds of food...
and judge me for eating what they wouldn't choose.

Of course I have also had people agree with my perspective, support my choices, and some who don't care at all, but they aren't included in this topic of conversation.


One of my most joyous ways to share a meal, piece by piece by piece, a different combination with every bite....and of course, with my fingers!


I find that when we have judgment on things, we are assuming we are right.  Is it right to kill animals to eat?  Is it right to kill plants to eat?  Is it right to eat any products that come from animals?  Is it right to tell others how they should think about it and what they should put in their bodies?  The whole discussion of right and wrong, shoulds, have-tos and musts, is a great subject for another post.


Making my food choices based on my own experience, not on an idea or  label.


When I stopped eating meat, I didn't do it to save the animals, as I grew up where we raised our own food, including our own meat.  We also ate wild game, and fish we caught ourselves to feed our family and nourish our bodies.  I stopped eating meat because I felt it was hard to digest and decided for just one day to not eat meat.  Feeling so good felt better and better, so I continued my in-the-moment decision until many days went by and meat no longer was a priority or a desire in my life.  I don't call myself a "vegetarian", I just simply make the choices that are best for me for right now, and I don't hold myself to any standard, diet or idea according to a label.

I don't try to convince anyone else what would be good for their body, and I don't try to make them feel bad for the choices they make for their own lives.  I feel everyone's body is different, their requirements for health are their own, and they can choose whatever is optimal for their own situation.


Now I also don't condone the way we treat animals that go to market.  I don't condone the mistreatment, torture or abuse in their breeding, raising or their slaughtering.  Actually, the way we treat life in general on this planet is pretty disturbing to me, but I do my part to not contribute to that reality as much as I possibly can.  I also feel that the energy that goes into the meat from such abuse is what goes into our bodies.  So eating an animal that has been tortured or forsaken, does in no way interest me to be a part of my existence.  

It is also said that plants are conscious, as they respond to stimuli and to their environment.  I believe that eating plants that are grown and harvested with love makes for happier plants and healthier input into our human bodies, just as it would be with animals raised under loving conditions.  Since I have yet to be able to live on air and sunshine, I make the most conscious and empowered choices for my nutrition according to what my own experimentation and listening to my body dictates is the best for me, not on an idea or a label that would keep me in line.

With high-vibe nutrition for my body, I am fulfilled in my own experience.

I honor the choices of others and know that we as humans will only be healthier and more humane when we each make the choice to do so.  People can only see what they are ready to see, and belittling them or insisting that they change is really quite impossible anyway.


~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~


Many people come through the @gardenofeden with all different types of dietary needs and desires.  We do not judge their choices or put our ideas about food upon them.  We don't tell them what to eat, coerce them, manipulate them or deprive them of their own choices. We are, after all, about responsible freedom!  You will see many posts where we serve meat, cheese, milk or eggs.  Our foods are home grown or sustainably harvested.  We receive many donations that would otherwise spoil and turn into waste, hence really honoring the life and death of the once living plants and animals we consume.

Onion, jalapenos, sweet banana peppers and cayennes ready for the Candied Jalapeno Pickles. The BEST!


Eating healthy foods like these meet my nutritional needs.  But one day, who knows if or when, I may decide to eat meat again, though I feel with all the options, I can make the decision as I go along.  In the meantime, I don't need to be defined by a label or make judgment on the choices I make or those of others.

I have experienced that using labels to describe ourselves actually doesn't really help us. Not only do our eating labels define us (as do political parties, country borders, illnesses, class and race), they even more powerfully also separate and divide us.  When we choose to just be, and allow others the same opportunity, we can erase the invisible yet nearly impermeable boundaries that make us appear to be so different.


Do you create your diet based on a label that is pre-determined on ideas, or do you make dynamic choices that change as you change, and bring value to your life?   Even if you do give yourself a label and live by the definition of it, I won't judge you about that either.  Everyone has their own way of finding their individual path.

I'd love to hear how your diet affects you,
and how it affects your relationship with others and with yourself.

Sort:  

Oh my goodness miss @everlove, we must be on the same wavelegnth for the evening because I just finished a podcast version of a post dedicated to you when I noticed you had just followed me. Thank you!! <3

It would mean a ton if you took a listen to the post I just put out that was inspired by your words in this one if you have the time.

  • Much love, Dayleeo

https://steemit.com/storytelling/@dayleeo/why-i-went-plant-based-why-i-don-t-use-the-v-word-and-the-pad-thai-existential-meltdown-or-text-and-audio-versions-texttosteem

Ahhhhhh...awesome @dayleeo!! We are definitely on the same wave length, and must have known each other for eons!! We are much alike in many ways.

When I stopped eating meat, my family began to act like I was anorexic, bulimic, or that I had a disorder!! "What will you eat?" "How will you survive?" "How will you maintain your body weight and now blow away?" Ooooo, then when I moved into eating only raw foods which was another whole level of concer -- "Are you just going to live on strawberries and salad?".....

I doubt my family has changed their diet much over their adult life. And that's okay with me. They are just perhaps unaware of where I"m coming from with my decisions. I'm grateful to no longer go to restaurants so there is no explanation required. Eating fresh at home is a way better choice for me.

I REALLY enjoyed your story and am so glad to have inspired you to make a post about it. I think these are important topics to address as they affect our everyday lives. I also love the audio--is that your voice?

Much love back to you. Blessed to be in your world and so grateful to have found you. <3

Haha! Oh my goodness, I should have been keeping record of all the silly things my Italian family has said to me over the months, bless them, I know they mean well but , "How will you get any protein!!?" has to be an all time classic.

I'm so glad you opened up the topic about labels because my reasons for what I eat are going to be different than someone who also does not eat animal products, and I think the box of a 5 letter word is much too small for all our awesome differences and perspectives.

It's not fair to gloss over the process of understanding someone else's viewpoint for the sake of brevity IMO.

I do feel like we must have known eachother in a past life, and yes that's me. I record my posts when I can as part of a project called @texttosteem with @teamhumble :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed! <3

Indeed!!! How will you ever get your protein!!?! That's a steady!

I really appreciate your engaging the topic and sharing your perspective. Though it appears we would make very great lunch mates, our reasons for eating like we do are our own. Perhaps we have already had many lunches together @dayleeo! Cheers to another opportunity!

It was great to hear your post and I think I'm going to check that out. @teamhumble has some good stuff going on...some initiatives truly worth supporting! Thanks for sharing your voice. <3

The encouragement goes such a long way -THANK YOU! And of course it's always appreciated, will see you in the steemiverse again very soon I'm sure (also following garden of eden... I'm in love 😍)

Of course you would resonate with the @gardenofeden @dayleeo. We are much alike and have much to share....sweeeeeet perfection! Love runs deep! <3

I think in the days approaching, the refugees of the world won't be built up with walls and artillery, they'll be places like yours, tucked away, with fresh clean water and safe natural foods :D Can't wait to be growing my own one day :D

Ahhhhhh....such peaceful and holistic reprieve!! May it be so that more of these places exist @dayleeo and may you be blessed to experience it.

I personally have no label, I eat practically everything. The most important aspect for me is that the food must be hygienic.
I have been chef for nearly 15 years and I have dealt with a lot of different people having all types of diet you listed above! Can you imagine, me and my team was dealing with +400 different tastes everyday from breakfast till dinner!
I have never judged anyone though, it's all about each one's choice and perspective.
I have also met with people having extreme diet and causing problem for my whole team, this i really did not like at all. You can have any diet you want, but it must not become a problem for the people around you.
Thanks so much for starting up this subject!
Cheers
@progressivechef

It's a blessing to have you chime in here @progressivechef. Dealing with the dietary needs of others can really be quite the juggle! 400+ at a time---wow! You don't get to pick and choose who to serve, so I can see how extreme diets can become taxing on your staff. We have had people at the @gardenofeden like that, having so many restrictions it was easier to know what they "could" eat as opposed to what they "couldn't". But generally here, people with such restrictions take care of their own needs so does not really intrude that much on the community.

Thanks for your presence here on my blog @progressivechef. It's great to engage you in conversation!

Thanks for sharing this with me @everlove, sorry it took me a minute to get to it! I originally thought you meant packaging labels! My head has been spinning lately with all of the projects I have going on =D

But now as for labels, despite the fact that I have been getting really involved in the vegan movement lately, I used to have a food blog that preached this exact principle and refused to commit to any direct label. For me, it's hard because I am not just "vegan" even though I don't eat animal products... I have some issues with the diet because vegans also eat sugars, gluten, and a whole host of things that are against my diet!

I think that in talking to people and relating to them, I start with vegan and work my way through what that means to me and which is exactly why I started #veganwednesday- to give others the opportunity to share what it means to them. It could have been another name realistically but that's part one of my project =)

My whole aim is to have people feel good from what they eat and I never tell anyone that they shouldn't or should eat any particular way because I really don't care what anyone else does! I do however love how I feel with my own choices and am happy to share or help anyone who is interested and that's what my contest and blogs concerning diet speak about.

I like your style and will continue to follow you my friend <3

There is so much power in making choices for ourselves and allowing others the same gift without judgment. I love the idea of sharing thoughts about diet and how we can optimize our experience of health. I'll stop in your veganwednesday and play a bit with you. Thanks for this awesome comment. So grateful to connect with you and share such potent realities.

Blessings on the way!

Absolute pleasure reading your Blog. We are like minded in the fact that we don't believe in labels and let our body decide what we want to eat.

I come from a town that is rich in fish. I grew up eating fresh water (River or our own fishery ) fish and rice as a staple diet . I personally prefer to eat Fish , vegetables and lentils. I do eat chicken but try to completely avoid red meat. I love goat meat and don't eat Beef and Pork. Eating red meat makes me feel stuffed. I only eat goat/sheep once a month or even less. I totally avoid processed meat.

Cheers to Happy Eating!
I have realized that self cooking helps me to cook healthy and eat fresh. So I try to cook for myself and mostly don't prefer eating or ordering food from outside.
However I love ghee (clarified butter) which I believe is healthy and is made from cow milk.

Great response @amrita!!! It seems people thrive most when they eat local. It's only natural that eating what thrives in our environment would be best suited to our bodies. Your diet sounds very in tune with what you feel is best for you. It's awesome that you choose what you eat by how you feel - a label can never take that into account. I don't eat out at restaurants or buy food from grocery stores. No better food have I had than that which I make for myself! I so appreciate your comment. Thanks for your presence here.

Love your post!

Going beyond the labels is so needed in every part of life.

I eat no meat, fish, or eggs but do use milk products , preferably from a local herd where the cows are not slaughtered but allowed to live out a natural life.

farmers market-1558658_1920.jpg
If there were no other choices but to eat meat, I'd do so, but I've never found myself in that situation!

My choices are spiritually based. An attempt to not cause harm or pain to other living beings. Plants are living beings, but with a different level of consciousness. Life comes from life, one of my spiritual teachers said and wrote a booklet with that title.

spice-606175_1920.jpg

What a beautiful comment @madlila. I am so with you, especially on the spiritually based choices! I go with what feels like the most aware and conscious choice I can make in the moment. I do eat eggs as we have our own chickens. I feed them, they feed me. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post. It's really great to have you here.

I have always been a picky eater, but not for religious, spiritual or health based reasons. For me food is all about taste! Okay not all about taste, it should look appealing, as well! :)

I love chicken, but not lamb or beef, but not cause it's white or red meat. I hate that I fall gloriously sick after eating pork, because sometimes I just can't resist a beautifully cooked pork chop! I generally dislike the pungent taste and smell of seafood, but I will eat trout and basa and some types of sushi. I wish there were more veggies in my diet, but they just don't taste as good to me. So I'm not vegan, vegetarian, eggetarian (Yes, that's a thing in India), or even a hardcore meat lover - I am simply me a TASTETARIAN, and very proud to be one.

"Tastetarian"----LOVE IT!! I definitely base a lot of my choices on taste, and on texture as well. That's one great perk about being a master gardener and a badass chef---growing and loving your own food! Growing one's own food really does change the experience of eating vegetables. There is nothing like a juicy ripe tomato that you planted in the home crafted soil, nurtured to maturity, eaten moments after picking from the vine. The entire process through the hands of love!! Who wouldn't want to eat some of that?

Thanks for your comment @fuchsia.ink. Grateful to have you here.

Totally agree! The fruits from our garden, always taste better than the store bought ones. I am not fond of guavas, but I will eat the ones I pluck myself. They just taste perfect! :)

That just goes to show you..it's all about energy! The better the energy, the better it tastes!!

Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Thanks @lichtblick!!! <3

sooo yummy and you are definitely licking fingers :D as its too delicious right ? :D

So So So Yummy!!! Most people lick their forks, but I definitely prefer fingers. It removes one more step of separation between me and my food.

hahahaha :D thats quite good :D u prefer fingers instead of fork :D fork always remind me of bitcoin fork :P idk why :D

Hahahaha---I've never thought of bitcoin fork!

Yummy.

Wow! It looks very tasty! You made me hungry.

Great!! Let's eat! Thanks for your comment @creativewoman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73