Giving Thanks and Growing UpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #storyteller4 years ago (edited)

thanksgiving pixabay.jpg


We were late. As usual. I looked at the clock, gulped down my coffee and called to the kids.

“Quick! Get your coats. We'll buy ice cream cones on the way--you can eat them in the car. And make sure that bird is back in her cage! You'll be heartbroken if something happens to her while we're gone.”

As soon as I opened the door I saw the rain clouds overhead. Oh, no! Don't let it rain. That will slow us down even more.

Today was supposed to be fun. But it was hard to get in that spirit with my mother and my siblings. It's true I'm always late, but I'm tired of being the target of family jokes. The kind of jokes that have a sharp edge. All my life I've been on the wrong end of family jokes. One day I just won't go.

But today, Thanksgiving, I'm going to have fun with my kids. They don't need to be part of this petty family history. Have to talk to Mom. Tell her the way I feel. We're all grown up now. Time for things to change.


Picture credit: Pixabay


This story was written for @hairyfairy's #storyteller contest. Contest ends on November 9. Rules here

Sort:  

Thank you for your nice Thanksgiving story.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84