Story Cubes Contest, Round 3 Entry

in #storycubes7 years ago

A Tiny Ode For The Height Challenged


IMG_7880.JPG

Everything is always just out of reach

The following smattering of rather rhyme-y words is my entry for @jacobtothe's Story Cubes Contest, Round 3. The cube of a person reaching for something over their head got my creative juices percolating, and I also drew inspiration from the thought bubble cube, digging a hole cube, hand shaking cube, and ball dropping cube.

And here we go:

A Tiny Ode For The Height Challenged


Always out of hand's reach, a desired item needed
Perpetual requirement of an aid for a task to be completed
Raining down from lofty heights, constant mockery befalls our ears
A longing builds to show the towering behemoths exactly what it's like down here
Empathy is required, they need to understand
Inspiration it strikes, a thought bubble expands
If only the giants of this world had holes in which to stand
They would comprehend the long, non-grasping stretch of a small person's hand
Inconvenience and humility felt, a tiny acquiescence they could concede
And forever the gargantuan would have a hand for what they lost beneath a seat

There's just one problem with this grandiose and colossal scheme
The sheer volume of empathy holes needed is a total pipe dream
Alas, I have neither the time or the army of pit digging acolytes
My plan of short teasing elimination is fleeing like summer twilight
A reality ball drops its crushing weight of realization upon my head
The dream of achieving mutual understanding wanes, it just might be dead
Upon the counter crawl I once again, morose due to a lack of success
Enlightenment suddenly smacks me as I wallow in my duress
The tall must reach down as often as I need to reach up high
We require each other's opposite attributes in order to get by

Contentment builds as illumination fills my open mind
The tall will tease the short and the short will proceed to forever unwind
Bouncing round chihuahua-like, I'll continue espousing my incessant outrage
Playing the role Nature granted me, you'll definitely know my historical page
However, in the depths of my stature-challenged, oxygen-rich cranium
I'll be aglow with the knowledge that giants need the tiny as much as we need them.
So in the end, I will proudly endure the ribbing that comes at my expense
For by the time a leviathan realizes how far ahead I am, their thoughts will be past tense
My lamenting over, jesting made regarding my stature is at this moment complete
And yes, now that you mention it, I could really use that booster seat.


IMG_7875.JPG

I use this thing so much it could be considered an appendage...


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's dwelling closer to the earth than most iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here

Sort:  

hehe that was very wonderful to read :D

Lol, thank you! We short people tend to get a little dramatic when it comes to expressing concepts that arise due to our lot in life😜 Glad you enjoyed!!

Nice! Enjoyed reading very much.

I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you!!

Your Ode could be a metaphor for my life...

At times, I feel as though almost everything I dream of and hope for is just ever so slightly out of reach... );

😄😇😄

@creatr

LOL! Mutual feelings alert!

I was so happy to see so many comments from you this morning! It has been a bit crazy around here lately, and it is about all I can do to keep up with blog posts and comments. At times like that I am so happy that the Race has already been won for us, because reaching for our dreams is hard enough. Hope you are having a fantastic day my friend!

Thanks.

The struggle goes on, but I appreciate your reminder that we have a guaranteed finish line... :D

Wow..once again nice post from @generikat
(1) your presentation and written skill is excellent sir....always you have earned my respect.
(2) you have got good command.
(3) I think you have more creative and different idea
(4) I think you have very good tips and tricks about written .....
(5) Thank you so much this post
I have become ur fan.
will be regular reader of ur blog.
Happy steeming....
Upvoted..
Cheers!...

Oh my! Thank you very much for all the kind words @dinisanda!

I appreciate your support and will go check out your blog too😊 Hope you are having a lovely day!!

You are wel come my dear friend @generikat

Friend of my support, for me who wrote. I need help from all friend, @yooraa, like. I will try my best in stringing words with the encouragement from esteem friend who faithful and can take me like you.

Well, we all can use encouragement from time to time, so thank you for loads of it, and I hope that you are having a most pleasant day!!!😊

thank you Buddy on support, for I wrote .I need help of a friend of all, @ yooraa like.

Your illustrious ode reminded me of a small gem of a picture. My 5'3" wife had a little trouble getting the right oomph in the mixing bowl.

image

LOL! I so understand her pain, and at 5'2" I can confirm that I've utilized similar maneuvers😆! Bet whatever she was making turned out amazing, we short folk usually go the extra mile, er, counter jump, ha ha ha!! Your wife is awesome! Thanks for sharing!!

That's Great , enjoy reading it thank you

Thank you! I'm glad that it didn't fall short in the enjoyment department, lol!

I love those pics and particularly the last one and this is because i am a pet lover and i think u too are...thank u @generikat and have a great day.

Oh, thank you! I too love animals, and am always happy to be in their company! Hope you are having a great day too!

100% entered. Upvoted and resteemed. Urge to type short joke here resisted.

Short joke resistance is good for the soul, or your overall general well being. Probably a bit of both.....😉

You have impressive writing skills ! Love it

You are too kind! Short person outrage comes easy to me, I can even reach it! LOL!

Hehe 😂 also good luck!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67