The Last Arrow (Random Word Short Story)

in #story8 years ago

It was a present. The last arrow from the bowyer.

"How much?" he asked.

"A gift, but be careful." she said. 

"What, what does it do?"

The man looked at the arrow. It did not have a sharp tip. Instead there was the shape of a heart.

"The arrow must touch skin. When it does, it sticks to its target, for a brief moment, and then falls off."

"Is that it?"

"Always the impatient one Greg... in a few seconds the effects start to take place."

"Effects?"

"Romantic feelings. The person who gets struck will fall madly in love with the archer. An ache, like a cavity that only you can fill."

"That is ridiculous," Greg said with a chuckle.

"Have I lied to you before?"

"No... but why give it to me. You can make a fortune off of this."

"I have my reasons. Now who will you use it on it?"

"I'm not sure, I can use it on Laura, or Felicity... or maybe even the princess."

"You could, but are you sure? Remember once they are struck, they will always be around you. Want to spend every waking moment with you."

"Hmm.. I like Lauara, but she can get possessive at times, I can only imagine what she would be like if she was stuck."

"And Felicity?" the bowyer asked

"We don't have that much in common... you are right, this is harder than I thought."

"What about the princess?"

"I would like to be prince... but I barely know here. What if she drives me to drink... no I need to use it on someone I know, someone I like. Someone who I can count on.

"And where would you find someone like that?" the bowyer aske with a smile.

It was then that Greg realized why she gave it to him. 

"I think I know someone, does she mind walking ahead of me for a bit?"

The bowyer took the arrow and tossed it to the floor. "You need not waste your arrow."

The two kissed.


This short story had to include these THREE random words:

bowyer 

cavity

present

Sort:  

short but sweet. It's hard to write stories just from prompts. I wrote one story a day for a year for Andy Meisner on Storypraxis. As Edgar Rice Burroughs said, write enough stories and you're bound to get good at it. Nice work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55