Something's Missing - Flash Fiction

in #story7 years ago

Her eye lashes are the same colour as her hair. Blue. I take a step closer. The colour is vivid. It shines under the spotlights that spin above the dancefloor. She is alone. There isn't a body around her. Expect me. I take a step closer.

Then a push a button.

She freezes.

Her hand is beside her face. It is curled gently. Her nails are almost caressing her cheek. I take another step closer. Her skin is perfect. Not a mark of a blemish anywhere. Pefect. I moved my body to view her. The system knows that I am walking around her. I look up and down in real life, the headset moves with me. Her body is as nice as the rest of her. I push the button again. She goes back to dancing. Her hips start to...

My cell phone goes off.

I push a button to pause it.

I take off the headset and pick up my phone. It's Sarah again. I wonder what she wants. She has been acting weird lately. I'm sure she is fine. No message. I put the phone down and put the headset back on. I push play.

The woman starts to move. I can hear the music in the back, faintly. I should buy new headphones. She does a spin. Her hair flairs out. Then she starts to lower her body. Her knees open. She rubs one hand through her hair. It isn't like Sarah to call so many times. Maybe I should call her back. The woman gets up and starts make eye contact with me. I think of Sarah. I push the pause button. The woman with the blue hair looks me in the eye. There is something missing.

I take the headset off. I put it down and pick up the phone. I open the call history and touch her name. The phone starts to ring.

"Hey," she says with a soft voice, "there is something I need to tell you so I'm just going to say it."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10