A Fish Out Of Water - Short Story (Repost)

in #story8 years ago

She was gorgeous. She stood in the sand with a surfboard in front of her. The sun rising in the distance.   

"Are you just going to stare at her like a creep?" my friend asked. He took a bite of his ice cream cone.   

"No... I'm going to say... something... maybe I can go surf with her, meet her on the waves."  

"You don't know how to surf... you don't even know how to swim."  

"I just need to stay on the board."  

"I don't think it's that easy."  I looked at my friend. He had a thick white line on his nose, sunscreen that he didn't rub in.   

"I have to do something."  

"Maybe she will give you mouth-to-mouth or you'll drown... either way."  

"Thanks."  

I rushed to the club house that was off the side of the beach. There was a big sign that said surf boards. I would rent one. Take it to the water. Ride one wave towards her and say hi. Then back to solid ground. How hard could it be?  I got one with a yellow strip down the side. I didn't know the brand or anything, but the strip looked cool.  Where did she go?  

I spotted her in the distance, she had caught a big wave and was riding it like a professional. She was fearless. When the tide went in she returned to the shore. But she didn't stay long. In a few seconds she readied herself for her next adventure. I watched as she paddled to get out into the water and then stand up with ease. I needed to do the same. She started on her stomach, then stood when the time was right.   How hard could it be?  

I took my surf board and entered the water. I was near her but not too close. I didn't want to look desperate. I put the board in the water. Check. Then I lay flat on my stomch and started to paddle out with my arms. I'm not sure how far I got, but it was definitely far enough. The beach was tiny behind me. Blue surrounded me. I could see her off in the distance. It was time to stand up.  Any minute now. I continued to hug the board. This was a lot harder then it looked. I started to panic. The waves rushed underneath me. The thought that I didn't know to swim rushed to mind. I hugged the board for dear life. Hoping it would safely take me to shore. I turned my head to look, but the beach was getting smaller.  

"Help! Help me!"  I screamed like a scared child. My arms gripped the bottom of the board. A wave splashed against my board.  

"Help!" I yelled again.  

I looked up. She came towards me like a super-hero. She slowed down near me and then sat on her board. Effortless.  

"Are you okay?"  I tried to look at her but was in an akward position.  

"I could use a little help... if you don't mind?"   

"First time?" she asked  

"Was it that noticable?"  

"You will need to sit up."  

"I can't," I said. All self-respect was already long gone.  

"Yes you can, here take my hand, I'll steady you."  

She gave her right hand. I grabbed it. It was soft yet strong. Slowly I sat up on the board.  "There you go, now hold on to my board and I'll paddle you back."  

I did as I was instructed.  

"Next time don't go out with an instructor," she said as she started to get us towards land.  

"I know... I know."  I held me head down. I wanted to find a rock to crawl under.  "But it was pretty brave you giving a shot like that."  

"Brave is one word for it."  I sat in silence as she got closer to land. I wanted to say something. Why not I thought to myself, I already embarrased myself, what did I have to lose.  

"I actually wanted to say hi... to you."  She stopped paddling and turned to look at me.  

"You risked life and limb just to say hi... you know you could have just done that on the beach?"  

"In retrospect that would have been a much better idea... it was pretty stupid huh?"  

"Yes, but kind of sweet."  She turned a little more and stretched out her hand. 

"I'm Sarah."  

I didn't want to let go of her board. I nodded and said "Greg."  

She laughed.  

"Well Greg how about we grab a drink and you could say hi?" 

 "I would like that."  

She smiled and then got us back to the shore.

Sort:  

Hello @whatageek,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.87 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wonderful story - thank you for sharing.

Merry Christmas from Vancouver Island!

Merry Christmas from Toronto :)

...and Happy New Year, eh? (Lived in TO in 1997 - east annex)

Enjoyed reading that! Keep em coming :)

Hi, I read your story and liked it! I want to show it to the fiction-trail. We are trying to encourage great content creation on Steemit by building a community of fiction writers. On the fiction-trail discussion group, writers can meet other writers, get feedback on their work, and help others improve their skills.

I'm going to post your story there for others to vote and comment on, I hope it helps, and please join us for discussion and lots of great fiction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65