A City In A Dome - Flash Fiction

in #story8 years ago

The glass started to cloud. There were warning signs for weeks. Red lights that flahsed in the sky. We had been safe for years here. Our base on the planet Yaro 4. It was our eigth home. We didn't know we would have visitors.

The cloud started to disperse. We looked for cracks. If that dome was destroyed, so were we. I took a breath of the recycled air. The shields needed to be turned up. There was no time.

There was the sound of a drill. It was near the bottom of the glass. Above us a red light bathed the top of the dome. I pushed the worst out of my mind and hurried to the base. If we took all the power in the city we could protect the dome. We could buy ourselves some time. 

The drilling stopped. There was two holes now in the base of the dome. Two wires, like tentacles attached to the holes. Without warning a gas was pumped into our home. It was white with a tinge of purple. Some unfortunate citizens breathed it in. They were the first to go. 

The poison smog continued to expand. I have to get to the shields. The scanner read my palm. Another scanned my eyes. I rushed to the console. I turned up everything I could. I didn't care what we lost. We had to survive. There was a low hum. It got louder. Then a bright blue light that covered our home. It sliced through the tubes and covered the holes. 

Then the red light started to get brighter. I looked out the window. With a loud rush, a beam fired from the ship that floated above us. The shield vibrated on impact. But it held. The red light went dim. I waited by the console. Waited. All I heard was panic in the streets. 

I grabbed a face mask to breath and walked outside. The gas had started to vent out. Slowly. There were many casualties. But the city stood. We had to rebuild. We had to get ready.

They would be back.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75