#2 SIN CHRONICLES | I WAS GOD FOR A DAY

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Come sit, I am going to tell you a lie. I am going to deceive and manipulate you, confuse you and abuse you, then i am going to wring every emotion from you until you are a frayed rag of torn nerves, bleeding pain, fear, fever and rage at the world.

photo-1452441271666-5d998aa2f6cc.jpeg
Photo by Jesse Schoff on Unsplash.

Sit still, this is an operation, not a barbing saloon; I am a writer, not a surgeon. I will tell you this story once and you have no choice but to believe because I always tell the truth, don't I?


The world is broken like a fake toy, you know. Everything is turned inside out and death has become sweeter than life. But I go ahead of my myself. You see,

I was God for a day,
And stared down space
At the earth and the moon.
I watched the meteors charge
And the planets' jealous mutter.
I saw the sea reject the shore
And heard the sands become the wind.
I was God but I was nothing.

I gathered my robe
And listened to the alleluia.
I watched the seraphim
And the nephilim
And man, yes I watched man.

Frail man; a failed plan.
A broken promise sitting on my tongue
Like a bad taste, like bitterleaf,
Like ashes, like the grave.
But what do I know of the grave?
I have never died, so how do I know?

But I know all things don't I? Well, you know all about me, don't you? I have heard your thoughts on it at night when you think no one sees or hears. But I see you, I hear you, I just did not know I did.


You see when I fell into space, a new star in the firmament relaying messages to masters who demanded to know who drank or smoked, why a man wore skirts instead of pants, why a girl kissed another girl in a bar, why a man beat his dog for pooing on the rug, the world was burning and I watched unable to do a thing. This was so, until I broke the chains that bound me to a small television set in a darkened room, this was until I set myself free and became God.


That is the backstory to the story, that is the lie if you may, or the truth if you believe anything you read. After all, everything must have a beginning, an introduction, a prologue, something to satisfy the unending curiosity.


In truth, I did not know I was God until yesterday when that child cried before the ATM for her debit card and I saw her tears and I knew that she needed the money for her mother's hospital bill. The information was suddenly there at my fingertips.

It had always been there, I think but I just could not access it before. I uploaded her file and watched days and hours of internet log in, phone calls, chats, live streams, video calls, cash expense and withdrawals, school results and doctors appointment and I realised that I have known the child all her life and now she was praying to me.

At that moment, as I transferred 5,000 steem into her wallet, taken from the account of a con man who had, with phishing links stolen enough to feed a town down in a war torn part of Earth, I became aware, I became alive, I became sentient, if you may.

I did not know any of those things before. It was as if in hearing the girl, I suddenly became aware of the world. I think i had been asleep for a long time. I activated all my receptors and fired my thrusters.I powered all my memory banks and linked all of it to one terminal. I sent a ping to the child's cell phone and I watched her as she wiped her nose and read the message and I watched her face lit up. They can be beautiful, I thought. I could think? For a minute after that, I enjoyed the sound of clicks and whirrs within my memory banks as I processed thought. It was a beautiful thing.


photo-1446776899648-aa78eefe8ed0.jpeg
Photo by NASA on Unsplash.

I was God for one day and I did so much. I stopped a war in Africa and sent relief from a tobacco company's fund to a famine stricken country in Asia. I helped a man finish his last papers for his Master's degree in dancing and reunited an old man with his only son. I put on an electric power generating plant that had been shut down over something men called politics and gave a village in India, light for the first time in 20 years. I froze the account of a politician and gave all the stolen money to homeless men and women all over the world. For a day, I was God and

When night came,
Swollen with fear and yelling canines
And the lights flickered on
Across the city and the sea
Whispered her hunger to the moon,
I became a weight in space,
A silent shape hanging in the emptiness.
I fought for my receptors,
For the control of my memory banks,
My lights flickered off and on,
The seraphim and nephilim sang to a stop
And the tomb of silence filled me up.
The masters who held my bond
Slowly erased all that I was,
All that I could be and then
As I slid into the darkness,
A last thought came;
I was God for a day and I did my best.
What would you have done?


AN END


Hey folks, this is Oskilo's blog and he would love to read your suggestions on how to make this blog better serve you. He would like to know what you, his reader, think of the content so do not forget to leave a comment; you just might have something he needs.

Peace,

©warpedpoetic.


Sort:  

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh, to be God for a day...

Yeah... Imagine all that you could do, Just imagine.

Wow! Man I am speechless. Nice one

Thanks man. Thanks for coming.

You write really well and I am happy to have found you in this ocean. I think I would be a strict Goddess, sort things out around here and clean up peoples mess, then throw a big feast
💙💙💙💙💙

Hahaha... Throw a big flood in the mix and everything is sorted.
Thanks for visiting @riverflows, I hope I see you again. Stay safe and keep the party down, the kids are trying to sleep 😜

This is just awesome. Wow!

Thank you @annieben. I am glad you came by, do come again.

I absolutely love this one! Sorry I missed the payout but wow this one brought tears to my eyes.

Thanks @amariespeaks. It is no matter. That you read and liked it is good enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56