300 Word Short Story #+1 A story about a criminal family and a young man who lost everything.

in #story7 years ago

There was one a crime lord who lived much like the the one from The Godfather movie. One day a poor beaten soul with bright and passionate eyes came to him asking for work. The young man became the one who does all the helpful chores and he never held a gun in his hands though the rest of the crime family advised it for safety reasons. He always kept his head down and worked hard with passion and dedication keeping a specter of a bitter past tucked under the brightness of the eyes. He was forever neutral in all conflicts internal and became the one that everyone trusts.

He delivered the meals and played with the children. He accompanied the family members always few steps behind and stood like furniture. He constantly saw the darkness in the good people and the light in the bad. He witnessed the family bond of criminals. He was a part of a brotherhood and at times, cried himself into sleep. He was the nice guy that everyone took for the pussy. Even the women in the house thought he was naive. 

One day the Don himself said: "You're too kind for this world. That's probably why I leave my grand-kids with you. But you needs to get tough or nobody is going to give 2 cents about you. People would step over you."

The young man replied: "I was beaten to nothingness and stepped over when I came to you. Now I'm a part of your household. I had my home taken and family violated. Now I've got what's yours. In a harsh world people kiss the hand that they fail to cut. Well sir, I skipped the failing part and look where I am now."

Now what do these 293 words tell you...... What did you learn?

Like my Black&White photo challenge, I'm going to get a little meta with these posts. What's so meta about this story??? You'll see. For now just ask yourself what you can dig out of this story. What do you see in this.

You could say it's loaded with many things. But there is more than what meets the eye. There is always the other side. In my limited word count I'm unable to tell much. But I'm sure many of you will juxtapose the victim becoming a servant of the aggressors and and finding that one last bright speck at the end of the tunnel. A young man who had everything he ever loved taken away found shelter among those who are deemed bad and he gets to know the darkness in those bad men first hand. He also gets to see the light and love with the brotherhoods formed. Nobody is pure evil. The bad guys are not always the tough guys.

It wasn't an easy task but through his actions and inaction he got everyone to like him and to trust him. The young man didn't come across as a threat to anybody. He didn't picked up a fight and joined those he couldn't beat. He just went into the den and fit in.

In a world full of treachery and raw violence, kindness is an oddity that nobody seem to know how to deal with. But that kindness can take you to the gates that were censored and even recoup some of the losses that you had to go through.

For those who got their minds blown by the anime tag and the anime reference: Please don't spoil the story with fan theories. Just tease the audience.

Sort:  

Resteemed upvoted

As I live in a highly speed up world, I notice that I myself and others do not have the patience to decide as the man in your story. If you let time go by and act as he acted, you'll always see that the "bad person" has many other sides when present events take place. For instance a relative dies and the evil called is weeping and consoling at the same time his children. All men on earth are related to someone who love them. Even the most "terrible" ones.

Giving oneself the chance to witness kindness in a person I highly dislike and showing my own this can change the course.

You should check out Thubten Chodron (if I spell it correct) - a Buddhist nun - who talks to prisoners who murdered and did evil crimes. You'll find her on youtube. Unfortunately I couldn't find the particular speech when she talked about her work with prisoners and I give you the first video I watched of her (after that I almost watched them all):

I only watched a part of the video. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful smile. She seems to have a very good understanding. I checked some of her shorter videos. She is excellent for someone new to learning things. To me it's kind of too slow. Here is a little something from me:

Tomorrow I'm going to make you read my +1 post again and see it in a different light. Take note of the anime reference. Maybe @durzo would pick up what I'm going for.

I read the story again. With every reading I let another thought take my attention.

This one said: "yes, the story is indeed very good to transport the message, that the fool isn't so foolish. Accused of being naive he made something again out of his broken life after he hit rock bottom. He did it so gentle that no one noticed and underestimated what he already had accomplished."

Out of the story, in the real world, sooner or later - mostly sooner - this man would have been dragged into taking a side, speaking his mind, giving opinion to this or that. If I live with people they will "bother" me, ask me taking a side and wanting to punish me or dismiss me when I refuse to do so. Of course, me being this man of your story would withstand and in the long run it could be a life everybody dreams of.

The story is an ideal and it is told to strive for it.

This is one of my many interpretations - you might have another one.


the video: yes, you are not the first one who says that it is slow. Not for me. I love the slowness as much as I love the speed. Thanks for peeping in though.

Greg Braden I found some years ago. Interesting guy but maybe one is not ready yet to translate the language and puts him and people similar as him into the hocus-pocus corner. Very difficult to unite the disciplines because they behave like aliens to one another.

Try This and read the story again and you'll see everything in a different light.

That was very deep! I had to read it twice to understand it. Upvoted.

You haven't seen how deep the abyss go. Tomorrow I'm going to make you read the lines again and extract a different meaning out of them.

I support you with my resteem service


Your post has been resteemed to my 3600 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

P.S. while listening to the music of "Kasamatsu Koji Kaishow"
I altered the sentence from above:

In a world full of trust and kindness, violence is a strange thing that no one seems to be able to cope with. But this crudeness can lead you to the gates that are uncensored and reveal your gain to you.

Need to start watching anime myself. This is written very nicely! Took time for it to sink in for me.

Nice story , keep it up bro , thanks for sharing this kind of story , hope you will share more story like this one , enjoy steeming , Godbless:')

Wow, this is indeed deep, more importantly, is there an anime on this? looks like my kind of anime to watch

Gankutsuou is such an amazing series with the most unique style. At times it'll hurt the eye. But it's worth it. Though it was made in 2004 it holds up really well due to its visual style.

Siganme, saludos desde Venezuela. Bendiciones a nuestro pueblo que esta pasando por calamidades y hambrura.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50