Being foreign in your own country

in #story6 years ago

image.png

It draws me and I can not share a story - touching but pathetic.

I stood and waited for the time of Terminal 2 to pass in Sofia. A typical boring situation - we hang out early with my friend who was with me to check out. At one point, we hear that even voice telling us that the flight has a time lag. This is a slight deviation that I insert to get into the situation.

We decided to go around (but time must pass) and at this moment we hear weeping, coming from a woman at the age of 60, standing with my luggage to those street phones that you probably do not remember long ago. This antique is of no use because far more modern communication technologies have long existed. Well, yes, but right now that woman really needed it.

After a brief conversation, we were informed of the situation she was in, a 19-year-old woman in America deciding to come back to Bulgaria. For four years she has not come. Now, with a great desire, she finds time to visit her beloved hometown.

image.png

The woman was tearful, holding a crushed sheet of paper from a notebook containing several landline numbers and three other operators. She wanted to call because she did not have a Bulgarian number (and for what she was, four years outside of the country), and the man who was supposed to meet her probably was late because of a traffic jam.

Of course, my boyfriend and I used her with our phones and started picking up the numbers because her glasses were in the huge suitcases that stood beside her. The woman had been on a 12-hour flight and was already half-alive, but perhaps the spark that she was coming back was supporting her.

Having contacted her loved ones, we were left to wait until she relaxed and briefly met her story. She told us about how much orderly life she has in America, where she enjoys the success of her daughter and grown grandchildren.

image.png

And the next moment he turned to us and said,

"Children, thank you! I apologize if I thought you were crazy, but I panicked. This country will not be well. With such a desire I went from there, so many years have passed, but this is not a state. "

She asked what to pay us, but we smiled and explained that it was a great joy for us to help a good man in trouble, and she said,

"You can not come to me, I am from Velingrad, write down the address, you will be entirely at my expense, I here to October month. Soon I will have a phone and internet. "

And I'm a bit of a researcher and life-connoisseur, I wanted to know how another elderly Bulgarian living abroad lives, who would probably be sick here and have money only for medicines, payment of current bills and what remains for food.

I did not hear anything I did not expect. The good woman looked at me in the eyes and said,

"Child, where everything is different and better than here and I'm crying, I have my financial capabilities, but now with my money, I can not go home to my relatives, because here everything is out of control. I've decided to spend time at my father's house, to see the few relatives who stayed here and have a few excursions. I will go to Greece, Spain, I will go to spa breaks, but I will be extremely happy if you come to my guest. "

Finally, he finished:

"I am a little old but with a youthful spirit and I adore to communicate with young people like you."

Then the "Facebook" light is on. We exchanged contacts there (I immediately realized it was from the modern grandmothers) and we are already friends on the social network.

The woman was so well trained with the technology that she wanted to pay her a debit card in the taxi, which turned out to catch up with her loved ones so as not to hinder the boy anymore, which would be delayed anyway. In her eyes again was a disappointment because of the lack of POS terminals in the cars, and then she headed for the exchange bureau.

Our take-off time has come, and so the new dating has ended. I'm not going to get any excited about how much he's been feeling me, but since I did not feel the fatigue of minutes ago, it was definitely deep.

I was thinking and thinking once more about what it is like to be a foreigner in my mother country? What does it mean to make it difficult for you to go to your home, the paths to which you are familiar and where you rubbed your shoes, and how valuable is it to be a nobleman with a pure soul?

Botev and Levski ( National heroes from the past ) were proud to call themselves Bulgarians, and are not you ashamed anymore?


Thank you for your time
Veselka Prodanova


Facebook Page

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

you are looking so cute grand mother.

I love you grand mother ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34