The PLOUF Saga [Part 17 of 17] - Epilogue

in #story6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): La Saga PLOUF [Episode 17] : Epilogue

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.


Note: "Plouf", in French, is an onomatopoeia that phonetically imitates the sound of an object that falls in the water. The equivalent in English would be "Plop" or "Splash". That is a strange name for a boat!




Episode 17: Epilogue

The problem with navigating and having a boat is that you constantly strive to have a bigger, more comfortable, faster one too. You can not help it. All sailors are like that even when they have boats over 40 feet ... It takes more and more.

So of course, Plouf is completely refurbished and even a real little boat that can race, but it will never be habitable. The cabin is still undeveloped. For two years, this has always been the dilemma. I equip a cabin or not knowing that it will always microscopic. I estimated the cost to 1500 Euros and sincerely, is it not worth it to keep this money for the next?

The next? Well yes ... the beautiful story cannot stop there. Yann makes me a new gift. He offers me, so to speak, his Dufour 2800 (9.5m) which he has not used for a few years. And the fact is she's just gorgeous. First the Dufour line ... Then this boat with a lifting keel so we can strand her wherever we want. Giant! It is therefore a light sailing dinghy, and necessarily, it goes very well. But there is especially the cabin. A double cabin in the bow, toilet and separate bathroom, superb wardroom and fully integrated kitchen. Then, I can take all my little family!






The only things to do was to clean it, change a ballast and put a new engine. But I decided not to hurry and with Tristan and Clementine, we dismantled the entire cabin and portholes. We are redoing everything! And it's going to slam! So of course it's a job and I think it will take me a whole year to finish it. Not a problem ... Plouf is here for the moment.











During the holidays of All Saints, with the children, complete cleaning with the pressure washer, whole disassembly of the cabin, portholes and tarpaulin for the winter. All the woods are in my cellar and are already sanded. They will receive a layer of impregnation, three of stain, and 7 of varnish before being put back in place.

By the way, this time, we will change the name of the boat. From Mayaker, he will become Plouf 3! Why 3? Simply because Julien's boat is already called Plouf 2! Our new boat is already in our heads and the construction is progressing well even if the winter has put a serious stop. But I drew the logo that he will display on both sides of the hull! and all the woods are sanded. I'm just waiting for the temperatures to rise to apply the 7 coats of varnish.



If you have followed me so far, it's because the story of Plouf touched you. But what are we going to do with her? Don't worry, I'm not giving up my boat, I offered it to Tristan at Christmas. Plouf now belongs to him and he became his captain. We keep the place at the port and I have set up a partnership with the sailing school for the young people to participate in competitions on when Tristan is not there. Tristan who passed his coastal license last week. Sailor for a day, sailor always!

Plouf will continue to sail and it is the best gift that I could make to this boat that gave me so much. Besides having written his story here.



Tristan, new captain of Plouf on his boat (and fishing!)

The END

Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4 - Part 5 - Part 6 - Part 7 - Part 8
Part 9 - Part 10 - Part 11 - Part 12 - Part 13 - Part 14 - Part 15 - Part 16

All photos are property of @vincentleroy and under copyright


Sort:  

It is really adventurous to sail in such beautiful weather.

That's great! nice photos.
No doubt Vincent Le Roy is a great guy and his post is also great
but I can't understand French.So thanks for translation in English.

great activity

If I had a boat...

thank you great post vote and follow you blog.

Good acquisition @vcelier !I consider you a happy person.Own your own boat and go to sea is happiness!Good luck to you!

гггьб.jpg

wow,,sir
its great photography

keep it up sir
thanks for sharing,,,its gorgeous lookinh photo,,,

You are very smart to choose a boat for the family thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72