The PLOUF Saga [Part 1 of 17], by @vincentleroy (translation from French)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): La Saga PLOUF [Episode 1] : Introduction

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.


Note: "Plouf", in French, is a onomatopoeia that phonetically imitates the sound of an object that falls in the water. The equivalent in English would be "Plop" or "Splash". That is a strange name for a boat!


The PLOUF Saga - Part 1 of 17 - Introduction

I will tell you a new saga, in my own way. A true story, that I lived at 100%, like everything I do. This story is going to be a little longer than usual but will still contain a lot of pictures. And I hope that you will also attach yourself to the character that I will introduce to you in this saga: PLOUF!

Plouf? Yes, Plouf! Plouf is the name of my first sailing boat. And you'll see, it's a touching story and quite extraordinary. How does the story begin? Ah yes! Actually, let's start at the beginning. Let's say that in 2015, I make the choice to leave Paris to settle in Brittany, to put myself in shelters in this big house that I like so much just above the harbor and the bay. At the harbor precisely, over the years, as I take pictures at sea, I sympathized with Yann and Julien who run our small harbor. And clearly at the end of 2015, I started saying that if a boat was for sale ... let's say I will not be against it.

The message seems to have been heard. Because in early January 2016, Yann calls me: «I have a boat for you, you just have to clean it a little, but to start, it's perfect; and "small boats, small problems". I'll send you a picture. He is at the pontoon I spot 25.» And the picture arrives on my phone ... with a message: "her name is PLOUF!"



First, which one? Yeah, I'm not much advanced. Decidedly, the photos for our harbor master, it's not his cup of tea; or else he is hiding something. Immediately, I take the car and here I am on the platform and of course I do not have a badge to access it. Fortunately, a yachtsman opens the gate for me and I go down on the slippery teak pontoon wrecks ... To be honest, I'm not really aware of it at that time. And here I discover "Plouf". In its juice so to speak. And no, it's not an exaggeration, because the little Plouf is in a very bad state.






In retrospect, I think that today with my knowledge of boats, I would vomit. But no, I'm so happy to have a boat that I have tears in my eyes and instinctively, I say "Hello Plouf". It's stupid ... but here it is, my boat. And we will not leave each other.

-- Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy)

Continue to Part 2

All photos are property of @vincentleroy and under copyright


Sort:  

Sounds like an interesting story, thanks for sharing with us

I have seen boats that are in much bad conditions, in the place where I live, because, here, everywhere are canals, and people use boats a lot.
Nice translation of the story from French to English!

Beautiful story ! I will tell it to the family.

The sea is the same as it has been since before men ever went on it in boats. ...
boats have thier own importance ... nice post sir

wow beautiful awesome image you are great thanx for sharing keep it up😍😍😍😍😍

Man it was too short of a story! And it's state is not as bad as it seems! I've seen worse as my brother brought from Netherlands a 25m long sailing boat which was in really bad shape.

waw very beautiful

Can't wait for the next chapter. Nice translation. I wouldn't really understand if it was posted in French Language. Have a great week!

dear @fycee, for sure you will know the whole story thanks to @vcelier who makes super translation for me :-) hope you will enjoy this true story :-)

You wouldn't exert effort doing this translation if the story didn't catch your interest. Thank you for replying to my comment and mentioning the owner of the story.

Thank you for the good story every time.

Thanks for translating this inspirational story in English , sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59428.91
ETH 2657.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50