My Life Today: Visiting @shortcut in Bonn, then driving to Copenhagen

in #story6 years ago

I arrived in Bonn last Thursday, April 19th, in the afternoon. My hotel was in the city center, so I put my car in the parking garage for the duration of my stay, and I walk and took the bus instead of driving.

In the center of Bonn there are many pedestrian streets as this one:


00_bonn_pedestrian_street.png

And people use their bicycles a lot:


01_bonn_bicycles.png

On Friday afternoon, I went to @shortcut's house and I met his wife and daughter.
@asperger_kids came too and we went to the Steemit Meetup Aachen #3 in Aachen, which is around 100 km east of Bonn.


02_bonn_aachen_steemup.png

We had a lot of fun there, and the other Steemians were kind enough to speak to me in English, as I was the only one that could not speak German.


On Saturday, on the recommendation of @shortcut, I walked to see the cherry blossoms.

On my way, I saw one of the park:


03_bonn_park.png

I also walked through some narrow streets, such as this one, with very well maintained old buildings.


04_bonn_narrow_street.png

There is a street in Bonn where there are many cherry trees, on several hundreds of metres. They florished in April, and I was fortunate to visit Bonn at the right time.


05_bonn_cherry_blossoms.png

After that, I wanted to visit the Beethoven house, but unfortunately it was closed on Saturday morning.


06_bonn_beethoven_house.png

After lunch, I went back to visit @shortcut. We mostly talked about our life an Steemit.

I ask him to show me how he was using dada and he created a drawing in front of me.


07_bonn_shortcut_dada.png

After a vegan barbecue with @shortcut family, I went back to my hotel.


On Sunday morning, I finally was able to visit the Beethoven house.

One thing I noticed there was that many documents were written in French, such as this one:


08_bonn_beethoven_french.png

On the afternoon, @shortcut brought me to Drachenfels, the place where Siegfried, the hero of the Nibelungenlied is supposed to have kill the dragon.

Drachenfels is a hill with an old castle on top that is mostly in ruins.


09_bonn_dragenfels_ruins.png

From there you have a very good view of the Rhine.


10_bonn_dragenfels_rhein.png


Early on Monday morning, I drove north towards Copenhagen. After crossing the sea on a ferry for 45 minutes, I arrived at @katharsisdrill house, and I finally met him, after translating his comic Phill from GCHQ for more than a year.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the impressions of your visit, was a pleasure to meet you in person :-)

Indeed, it was a pleasure.

oo my god, I am sorry, I have misjudged you, before I see you all I think @shortcut is my age youth, but I am even more grateful for having known you. it turns out you are my father's age, not just a friend, I hope you will guide me with your experience of course more than me,
greetings and friendship

Que agradable ver como pasa el tiempo visitando y conociendo steemians, y diferentes lugares de la ciudad, todo esta muy bonito. Saludos y abrazos!

I'm glad you finally got to meet @shortcut in person. He is a true guiding light on our platform.

I was disappointed when I read that Beethoven's House was closed, but then so glad to learn you got to see it the next day! It found it amazing to see his instruments, it was a very moving experience.

Looking forward to your post about Copenhagen & @katharsisdrill

Happy travels!

Wow!! What an experience to have the opportunity to meet and spend time with these people that you have been associating with for so long. It truly says so much about the Steemit community. You are meeting families, enjoying dinners and touring with people you met through the platform. I love hearing about this. The pictures you are sharing are so nice. Everything looks so clean there. The streets look so tight. I often wonder how cars even find room. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to the next installment already.

Looks like a village, or a middle-size town :-) Funny to think that it was chosen to be the capital of West Germany! Beethoven lived in Bonn?

Sure, Beethoven was born in Bonn and lived there from 1770–1792. Right now the city has a (growing) population of more than 300,000 people.

that's so amazing!!
Old is gold,,old things might give us a unknown feeling which is so familiar,,,
thanks,,@shortcut

Interesting to know :-) Thanks!

He was a prodigy child and his father was much intent on making him the new Mozart...

It was partly chosen because it was such a small town. It was a sort of signal - this town is NOT the "big capital", we will get back to real capital!

aaah i get it :) And i guess not to make jealous any other big cities like Frankfurt, Munchen or Hamburg if one of them had been chosen rather than one of the others :)

It was to see the man behind the account.

As a short history to Aachen. Aachen was the seat of the empire of Charlemagne, which influenced the history of Western Europe for a long time. He is also burried there in the cathedral.

That you find documents in French is normal for that time in Europe. Naopleon conquered most of Germany. As a fun fact his 3rd symphonie was entitled at start Eroica - intitulata Bonaparte. He removed the suffix after Napoleon crowned himself emperor.

Enjoy your trip!

Bonn looks like a wonderful place and well-kept. I hope that I visit it and especially the one with the cherish trees and the house of Beethoven as well! Thanks for sharing :)

Nice post with beautiful photographs! Thanks to share, keep it up.

Nice post with awesome pics.
Thanks

You are guiding people and rest is on people, you did what you thought what is right to do. Good one,,,
travelling post is so interesting,,,i like your post..
thanks for sharing,,@vcelier
@upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31