Steemit: a Beacon of Hope

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The first time I made two dollars on steemit, I shed tears.

I found steemit at a point in my life when I was desperate. I needed to start all over again. I had lost a lot of money(millions). I was in debt. I had trusted all my money to some people I thought I knew better and due to their ineptitude, lassitude, dishonesty and my wrong judgement, I was at the brink of losing it all. I had also lent some money to some idiots who don’t have any honour. That also was gone. The only money I had was the money I had borrowed from my former boss. And my job? I quitted my job to join one mlm which turned out to be a scam. I invited all the people that trusted me and till this moment I'm still paying some of them back their money because I like my reputation. You see? I was a disaster!

2688715_S.jpg
Image

Depression


My consultant(who had done everything he could to salvage the situation) just called me to inform me of some latest development in the business venture. Things were not looking good. I had deprived myself of all luxuries and invested all that I had in the business and yet things were going so badly. I was angered, embittered, depressed and felt betrayed by natured.

In the heat of such emotional turmoil I decided to indulge in a little argument in a cryptocurrency chat group. I thought I might as well just channel my energy into some argument and distract myself from my depression. I was arguing in favour of Steemit. One guy from the group suddenly interrupted our argument and told us he had given us(@samstickkz and I) a tip on Steemit. He was probably impressed by our argument.

“What's this dude talking about?” I said to myself and reluctantly checked my account.
My latest post had received a $2 upvote.

Beacon of Hope


When I checked my account, I had indeed received a $2 upvote. Oh boy! I was ecstatic. I chatted @samstickkz to ask if he also got his $2 and he confirmed it.
We both expressed our gratitude to this generous guy. On checking his account we discovered that we had just found a whale. This whale is @infovore.

2630647_M.jpg
Image

What @samskikxz and @infovore didn't know that day was the kind of joy and relief that $2 brought to me. I became filled with so much happiness. In a world where everyone was trying to rip me off, getting a $2 gift was such a relief. That $2 was indeed a beacon of hope.

My depression was immediately gone. I stood up and took a walk for about an hour. This is what I usually do when I am overcome by tumultuous emotions. When I came back from my walk, I decided to take Steemit more seriously.

Sometimes we all going through a lot of pain and difficulty and in the midst of that pain some angel in human flesh just does some random good that uplifts us. Can you relate to this?

I live my life by some principles and values. One of these principles is slated in these words from Dale Carnegie's Book(How to Win Friends and Influence People).

I shall pass this way but once. Any good therefore that I can do or any act of kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer nor neglect it for I shall not pass this way again.

I want to be remembered as the guy who did good, who smiled too much, gave too much, who lived and who helped people. When I think of how much good I can do with Steemit it inspires me to work harder. I want to be like @infovore was to me that day. I know a lot of people are going through pain and suffering. I hope that my actions in this world would lessen the suffering, pain and poverty. I hope to light up my world.

Thank you for reading. I hope it was value for your time.

I love you


DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sundayselfies is a fantastic way to show love and give to the people you care about in Steemit.

It's a weekly selfie challenge that spans the entire week. It opens on Sunday and closes on Saturday.

https://steemit.com/photography/@tojukaka/sundayselfies-contest-4-shades


U5dsbH6G82L3FyrzZpSjKjG2pKwdY38_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

I remember that day, some day I'll put smiles on the faces of minnows

continue posting please

Lovely piece... Steemit gives hope to a lot of people especially in Nigeria

I want to be remembered as the guy who did good, who smiled too much, gave too much, who lived and who helped people.

There is no other thing gratifying than having this kind of feeling and impacting people in reality. Great to know your hope was rekindled on this platform.

Thank you bro

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 26.10 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @tojukaka. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Bro, I think steemit is the best painkiller, ever since I joined the internet communities, I av always hope for some thing this real but found non, thank God to steemit the answer to the Nigerian youth. I'm new here and I'm @kinyobana (follow me please )

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

An amazing story of the struggle you have gone through and such a huge loss! So sorry that it happened to you mate, glad to see Steemit has called out at the right time and you see a way back into breaking even once more. Good luck on your journey!

Thank you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57