Caretaker

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Caretaker

                                   Prologue

I am the caretaker!

These were my first words. They were never spoken, never listened to, or sought after. They had no meaning, nor where they pointless. They only where.

I am the caretaker! The one that cares for no one. The one that has no one. And has never known of one. I’m a simple existence, that exist for a reason, which to me is still unknown.

I am the caretaker! How many times have i said this, how many times have i yelled. How many times have i pushed out the words, when no one is listening to what i’ve said.

I am the caretaker! My last time to say, my last breath is coming closer each day.
I am the caretaker! No more words, the silence is slowly killing away what it once had me learn.

I am the caretaker…...wait, what is this?

Someone is here.

                                 The voice

Dark. Cold. Empty. These were the feelings i felt. I who loved all, i whom cherished everything. “Where am I?”, I shrugged. The cold is lonely, it’s making the ray of light thin and empty, making me scared, lonely.

The space was dark, so dark that you wouldn’t see. I walked in. The sounds of silence is aching me. It’s drinking away the courage that’s been driving me. The walls are caving in, at least that’s how it felt, even doh there were no walls, no floor, no ceiling. Just blackness. I’m scared. “What is that”, I think I heard something. “Please help”, “I don’t know where i am”. I mustered what bravery I had left and followed the windy sound of something, or someone.

The sound vanished. It may have never been there. Just my foolish brain teasing me, and giving me false hope. “Light?”. Something far away glimmered, shined. It was weak, but obvious and hopeful. I ran, faster, faster, faster. The light seemed to be longer and longer away. “I am t…….” i heard something, it was the voice again. The one from earlier. The one that gave me hope. I ran, the voice seemed clearer and clearer the closer i came. Until i finally arrived at a door with a small handle and a little candle that had lighten my way.

I heard a voice, a voice that’s never been heard, a voice that no creature has ever seen, smelled, felt or heard.

“I am the caretaker!”.

                                 The being

The smell of the tarnished old wood made my nose close entirely. No smell could come closer now. No sound. No sound could be heard. The being behind the wooden door, wasn’t there. No sound. Why were there no sound? I could hear clearly just a few moments ago. No sound. What is happening. No sound. The quiet air is getting louder. The heartbeat of a scared creature is rising and gaining louder. Donk, donk.

“who's there?”

Speechless, no sound.

“Hi” i mumbled, “I don’t know where i am”. No sound. “Can you help me?” I mumbled louder. “I am” the being said. “You are what?”. “I am the caretaker” it said. “The caretaker?, well that’s an unusual name. Oh sorry, I didn’t mean to insult you, it's just that, i haven’t seen anyone here, and I haven’t had anyone to talk to. Could you help me?”

“I am the caretaker” it said again. “I know” i angrily mustered. “You’re the caretaker, and I am… wait who am I?”

The cold breeze made me shudder.

“You are you” said the being. “I am me? What does that mean?”

The being became quiet. I waited for what seemed to be an eternity.
But then a sweet thin voice mustered;

“You are you, because no one else can be you.”

The unknown creature had calmed me down by something so simple as telling me I am unique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68