Alchemy of Her, Prologue

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Since last year I have wanted to begin this new project, i.e, this book.

I have always had a love for writing fiction, nothing else drives me more than my imagination. This book however is an interface between reality and fiction. The idea came to me because a lot of times I like to go through the notes on my iphone as I write on there often. Sometimes it is random thoughts, sometimes any incident which is worth documenting or my feelings in general in relation to a person or a place or a thing. I also write down all my steemit posts in my notes first. It just seems more personal that way. So there will be parts in this series which I will take from there, my important life moments!

So, here goes, and I hope you like it!

Prologue

I woke with a start, sunlight hitting my face through the drapes, just enough to mark the onset of morning. It was a big day for me, maybe by far the best day of my life. There were a lot of mixed emotions related to it but happy was the most intense one, also the one that I wanted to stick to. I feel like Everything that I did up till that point was a subconscious grand scheme to make this particular day happen. My family had kept this a secret from the rest of my family. Why? Short version, I am from India and we have big families there and all the aunts and uncles feel it's their job to interfere in every little thing that goes on in any one of our families.

This was something no one had done before. Well from the kind of background I was coming from, people did not even think of attempting this! I was always a bit, correction, a lot different from my family. They did not understand me, nor did they try. My parents too, but they were always supportive of certain things. They were and still are great parents, except a few situations when I felt I do not recognize them at all. More on that later though. In summary, my heart wanted to jump out of my body and my brain no longer controlled my face considering the ridiculous grin I had on my face all day that day.

So what was that big exciting thing? I, Maiya, was leaving India to come to Berlin for my future studies. And it wasn't the thought of studies and research that was making me happy, it was the fact that I was finally leaving this place, place that felt like a hellhole, a place where I never fit in, didn't have any independence, didn't have a voice of my own. I was finally going to be on my own, and see the world from a while different perspective! I always wondered what people were like in the west, their habits, their culture, their beliefs. I wanted to fall in love in a strange country, I know it's a cliché, but what the hell, I wanted to know the feeling. In my family, it wasn't allowed to have a boyfriend or a lover, and not just that, I wasn't even allowed to have male friends. I found this whole idea stupid as fuck, but, well. The idea of hurting my parents didn't sit well with me, after all, they raised me like a princess. Never having to do anything! I had a bodyguard, a butler and a maid. They wouldn't even let me get a glass of water for myself. So, yes, it was going to be a big change! And hopefully, a good change. I know, the two descriptions of my lifestyle are at war with each other. I was a princess, but more like on a tower and pretty much alone. Like Rapunzel. If Rapunzel was kind of tiny, brown and a brunette.

There was something though that I needed to do today. Breaking up with my boyfriend ( I had a secret boyfriend, just like pretty much every young kid in india). His name was Jai. Tall, great body, really nice guy. I met him during my GRE classes but we never really talked back then. At some point I needed someone to tutor me maths and for some reason, he offered. We became friends, and then we took a German language course together. Our friendship turned into more. I never really called him my boyfriend but he considered me his girlfriend. I being a nice person didn't freak out on him and thought, there is no harm in giving this a try. He was a guy any parent would like for their daughter, a perfect gentleman. He was the only male friend my parents approved of and my mother adored him. Only problem was that I didn't love him, at least not the way he wanted me to.

Yes I liked him at some point but in my mind it was over. I have no reason as to why and how I could not like him, I just didn't. It's just like when you cook something and you add everything that you usually do but then when you taste it, it feels like something is missing. Just like that something was just missing in our relationship. And for the life of me I couldn't figure out what that was. Maybe it was the fact that he never challenged me, he had a very passive personality. He agreed to everything I said, almost as If he did not have an opinion of his own. Am I bitch? I don't know. Just like me he was also going to Germany for his studies, only he was all the way to the south of Germany and I had decided to use that as an excuse. Yes, I know it was a horrible thing to do, but I just couldn't drag him along and give him any false hopes. So today I was going to grow a pair and end it.

And it was going to be shit.


Written by @things,2017. All rights reserved.
Images by Pexels.

Sort:  

Finally....
Hope to read more and more of this :)

Thank you so much. More is coming soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82