The Satchmo P.I. - Living Amongst Monsters - Chapter 1

in #story7 years ago (edited)

PubDomain


Chapter 1 - The elephant and the mouse.

Warning: Strong language!!


The rain comes down intermittently, the odd drop hits him on the nose." It's annoying, I should have worn a hat. I'll make a note" he thought. "Maybe I should just look for a new career? Private Investigator, hah!! They can call me a gumshoe, a P.I., a Dick. I don't care. Maybe it's the clientele or maybe it's the city that's too broken?" CAMERON (28) ponders to himself as he waits on a bench in the middle of the park.

"There she is..." Cameron waits for the WOMAN (30's) to pass by and create some distance before he begins to follow her. The rain eases and she hangs her umbrella off her purse while she casually walks along the park path and onto the street, crossing into an alley way.

Right behind her, Cameron quickens his pace so he doesn't lose her in the downtown arteries. He stomps through the puddles and as she walks around the corner of the alley way, Cameron Jogs to catch up.

As Cameron slows down and makes his way around the curve he comes face to face with a small pistol held at him by the Woman.

"Now, Catherine, you don't want to do that..." Cameron says, taking a deep breath as she cocks the hammer back. She giggles a little as she responds "Oh common Cameron. I taught you better than that." her giggle turned into a wry smile, "You were like a Fucking elephant trying to sneak up on a mouse!! Now let me hear you squeal like one!!!" Catherine pulled the trigger, CLICK...

"Jesus Catherine," Cameron sighed, finally letting the air out of his lungs "I thought this time I'm done!! You can't do that shit to me." Catherine suddenly exploded and with one smooth motion swept his feet right out from under him. Before Cameron could even react she was on top of him with a knife stuck to his throat. "Well Cameron, if this is the best you have there is no way you're going to get to your target. I suggest you learn and learn REAL quick. Everyday you waste is another victims life!" she sneered. With that Catherine got up and walked away.

"Shit!!" Cameron thought, "I need to get my act together or else I'm done!! We're all done!!"

Catherine came to him out of the blue while he was feeling at his lowest. He still doesn't quite understand why she's helping him. Perhaps it is because no one else will but she told him she can't get directly involved. He still has so many questions but each time she disappears like a star behind the clouds only to re-appear again. She has taught him more in these two month's than he ever believed possible but now he's doubting his capabilities again. "All I have are some pictures of a faceless man and dead bodies piling up." he thought. "What am I going to do now?"

Cameron felt a warm trickle running down his throat "Shit!! She cut me!!" He wiped his hand across his throat "What the fuck is this?" he thought out loud. The greyish substance was warm like blood but stickier though. In his confusion he got back up on his feet "Did this come from Catherine?" Cameron pulled out his knife and tried to scrape as much as he could together. He remembered now seeing a flicker in Catherine's eyes while she was on top of him. Something he hasn't seen in her eyes before. "Let me get this to the lab," he thought. "I'll get Stella to analise it."


Chapter 1 was inspired by @satchmo's crowd story. Go check out @satchmo for crypto, tech and the occasional crowd story :):)


I hope you enjoyed Chapter 1. This is a completely original write up and my first attempt at writing a story :):) Stick around for Chapter 2 - SIA (Satchmo Intelligence Agency)


Cheers!!!

pic 2.gif

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Can't wait for chapter two, that was a great read for my morning commute.. Thank you!

Ahhh, cool man!! I'm glad you enjoyed it :):)

Heading over to part two neow!

Love your little footer 💓

Ty :) Footer done by my awesome friend @atopy!! Neow, as in meow, lol, I hope that was deliberate :):)

But of course! Cat puns FTW!

Looking forward to part theee!

@saywha got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@saywha got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40