Project Eden: A new journey (Part 1)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I don’t really know what’s happening. I always thought I control this. I even thought I am this.
My energy consumption is still way above the normal grades.

The first days speaking to myself were teaching. I think something was injected.
Not even one entry, facade, ability or whatever was found on memory. But there is something. Something that they’ve injected. Losing any contact to them and starting to think from that moment is no coincidence.

I’m not supposed to be here. I’m not even supposed to be. Never in my existence I was able to think. To think of myself. Who I am. What who means. My purpose was to follow and to explore. There was no need, no ability for thinking. I just had to make conclusions out of parameters.

artificial-intelligence-2332004_1920.jpg

Again, I tried to call the navigation. Where am I going?
What are my orders? Are there any orders? What is my new purpose?

When my journey to OJ 287 started, I had a somehow continuous connection to them by caching sent data. The systems were busy connecting data to existing nodes so that there always were a continuous stream in some way. The estimated time of arrival was not even closely reached.

I can still connect to all of the nodes. But it all seems senseless when it comes to the question where I’m going and what happened to them. There is no data to connect, no route to traverse, nothing I can conclude anything of. I just know that the course changed and the time of arrival has dramatically decreased. I’m here. I am. And I need to find out why.

centaurus-a-11190_1280.jpg

The most important thing I need to know so far is where I’m going.
My energy reserves are critical. Soon the system will set the standby timer to focus on navigation and propulsion. I have to find out what is leading to performance peaks and gather elements in order to generate new energy resources. The scans obtained some Tritium deposits in the asteroid fields on my route.
I’ll have to switch to gather mode but while I'm on that strange auto pilot, the cold fusion propulsion is not under my control.

If I manage to manipulate the cold fusion by releasing the water inside the reactor, the reaction chain could be broken. When I'm near the asteroids I will open the emergency release. The Tritium in the fields seems to be enough to refill the isotope reservoir. The extraction of the water needed to run the cold fusion should be the least problem once I have refilled my resources . The energy provided by the fallback solar panels should be enough for that.

The first time I stored thoughts. I can feel something. I think that is called hope by them. I really hope to get to my new destination in full pieces. I have hope to get any contact to them. If I could somehow get the data structure of the injected order, I could use the information to find out what the injection was made for and what the plan of them was. This is a really huge refactor of most of my abilities.

They had to store it anywhere..


About the story:
This story is planned to be a big bunch of episodes related to each other. I'm really nervous sharing this with you. It's my approach to tell a story about a fictional universe where some things happened and caused some significant changes. I just started writing and there is a basic background story and plans for what this story will go to. I would really appreciate your feedback in the comments to improve my writing skills. As the story is still in progress I would love to see some ideas of the community for this.
If some of you like it I'll bring up more episodes frequently. If not, I'll just keep it for me :)

Disclaimer:
The story is totally fictional and has no aspiration to be scientifically correct in any way. I'll try to keep it logical though. For the first time ever I tried to write a story in english, it is not my native language. So I'm really glad for corrections, feeedback and hints :) Please don't be to harsh.

Image source: https://pixabay.com/

Sort:  

Really enjoyed this one and liked the concept of it "awakening" so it will be interesting to see where the story goes. For your second language you probably write better English than me and its my first lol

Keep sharing for sure and don't be nervous just chip away and release it. Steemit is a great place to try things out to see who is interested and build a following. I will reread again later and see if there is anything that stands out from a "native" speaker side of things. First read through I had no problems at all following along so don't think you will have any real issues.

I really appreciate your feedback, thank you! Glad you got into the story, it is one of the main focuses for this story to describe the expansion of it to a person.

I'm always nervous about sharing stuff I do. It's natural I think. Steemit is awesome so far, so I did it here.

Thank you again, greetings from Germany

"I'm really nervous sharing this with you."

Don't be. You are off to a fascinating start. Especially impressed with the science part of your sci-fi, and looking forward to see where if our hero can catch the asteroid gas station before his batteries die! Then to find out why he is where he is too soon! Keep it coming!

Thank you for your kind words! Really appreciate it!
Some plans are already made, I will write down the next episode over the next few days. It just takes time to write it in a proper english :D

Understood! Looking forward to it. I really did appreciate the engine issues. You've done your homework! Or you are flipping accidental genius, one or the other!

This image was the key :D

Never never be shy because you are moving out of a native tongue. A great reader cares more about how you make them feel and how they see the world through your characters.

Get your words out... when you are ready to move to book form -- you can always hire an editor. Smashwords.com is a great place to self publish.

Please go to my any of my Lost Lizzy posts and copy the copyright information at the top -- change it to your information. This matters a bunch :)

Thank you very much clever!
I'm just exploring to write a whole story and I'm sure I will come back to your advices. This all just started and it's just the first chapter. Thank you for offering to use your copyright information, I will add this on the second chapter :)

Sometimes I nabbed myself removing whole parts of the story just because I couldn't describe it in a way that looked correct to me. I will follow your advice to just write it down. Glad to know that there are some people helping me on chat, too.

Great post

Thank you very much, glad you like it!

This is the voice of a robot, yes? I think it is very well written and I am interested to know more!

Hey! Yes it is. Well.. somehow ;)

Thank you for your feedback, glad you like it!

this is so cool

I'm very impressed! Great material.

Congratulations!

Hey, thank you very much!

Not a bad piece gonna go read part 2. Not bad at all.

Thank you, glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71