Original Work: You'll Always Find Your Way Back Home, Chapter 5, Part 4

in #story8 years ago

twins.159030_960_72045d40.jpg

Chapter 5, Part 4

We didn’t talk until we were safely in the back of the car and headed away from the Plaza and the crush of photographers. “I think that went really well.” Schapelle remarked, nodding almost to herself. “We definitely got the ball rolling, had some good face time with the fans.”

I looked at her and Linda. “What was all that with Joshua Beckett?” I couldn’t call him by his first name, it was too strange to think about addressing someone famous on a first name basis. “He said something about good publicity, going out to dinner, recording on a CD?” Of course, I couldn’t sing to save my life, so that last part was out of the question.

Linda smiled in a conspiratorial sort of way, as though everything that was happening was for my own good, you are so welcome for everything I’ve been doing for you. “We’ve been trying to get the two of you…of them together for a while. The Retrievers are the biggest act in the music industry right now, kids love them, parents love them, everyone loves them. They’re cute, they’re wholesome, sickeningly kid appropriate, we thought it would send a good message to have Joshua and Emilia seen together, like if Joshua Beckett thinks she’s okay, you should too.” She explained. “But, of course, Emilia didn’t want anything to do with it. I don’t think she wanted to do anything I suggested, on principle.” I wouldn’t be surprised, sounded like Emilia. And most every other teenager alive.

Schapelle gave me a smile that reminded me a little bit of the all the pictures I’d seen of the self-satisfied snake in the Garden of Eden. “But you think it’s a good idea to go out with him, don’t you Scout?” She arched an eyebrow. “I’m sure you had his picture up in your locker…a million girls would kill to even be considered as a dinner date for Joshua Beckett.”

Yeah, a lot of them would kill me. “I just…don’t think he likes me very much.” Or maybe it was Emilia he didn’t like. I was starting to develop a complex.

Schapelle and Linda exchanged an uncertain and largely unreadable glance. “Well…he and Emilia have an…interesting history.” Linda replied, her tone a little guarded.

I had the feeling there was something I should have known before hand that I didn’t. “Define interesting.” I requested.

“About a year ago Emilia decided it would be a good idea to date his older brother, Stephen, because he was hot and desirable, blah blah and because, supposedly, Michaela Foxx was after him too.” Schapelle began. “But Stephen wasn’t interested because, as you know, he’s taken a vow to remain celibate until marriage.” I nodded, everyone who’d ever picked up a magazine knew this; thus was a lot of appeal for parents, who used Stephen Beckett as a way to teach good values to their children. As far as I knew, none of the other members of the band were under such an oath…not that that was relevant at the moment.

“So Stephen says no because of his vow and because of Emilia’s colorful reputation. So Emilia decides to go sell the story of their ‘one, hot night’ to the press.” Schapelle continued. I couldn’t believe that had slipped my mind, it was the talk of the high school for weeks and the student body was actually divided on who to believe. It had been quite the debate. I’d never thought the story was true but hadn’t exactly wanted to admit to my peers that I considered my sister a liar and a publicity whore, which was exactly what she seemed like. “A real tell-all exclusive.”

Linda frowned. “I still can’t believe she did that. Sometimes her inventiveness surprises even me.”

Schapelle continued undaunted with the story. “So Stephen denies it, of course, but Emilia says it really happened and the press really want to believe her side of the story because it’s exactly the sort of expose the press love.” I nodded, those types of stories were everywhere. “So Joshua gets involved, defending his brothers honor, yada yada.” She waved a dismissive hand, as though that was hardly important to the story. “Basically calls Emilia a desperate liar, saying the only reason she said any of that in the first place was because Stephen rejected her.”

I couldn’t imagine that made Emilia very happy. My thoughts were echoed by Schapelle, who added, “So Emilia goes to the press with another story, this one about how Joshua is the one who’s jealous, said that she rejected him and that’s why he’s attacking her publicly. She spins this whole jealous brothers story, a love triangle that’s threatening to tear apart the band, you know, all the stuff that sells magazines.” Schapelle shrugged. “Whole thing eventually died down when Lindsay Lohan went on another bender, or something but Emilia and The Retrievers haven’t exactly patched things up.”

“Then…why would he want to take me to dinner? Why would they want me…Emilia to record with them on a CD?” That made absolutely no sense to me, but I was starting to understand that very little was done in Hollywood because the people involved actually wanted it to happen.

“Public relations.” Linda replied. “It makes them look good, getting rid of an old grudge and all that. And, of course, it would make Emilia look good, if she would actually agree to do it.”

Schapelle smiled. “But we don’t need Emilia to agree to it.” She winked at me and I had the feeling that, regardless of what I wanted, I would be going to dinner with Joshua Beckett. Well…there were worse things, I supposed I could take one for the team if that was what it took.

If you missed the other parts of You'll Always Find Your Way Back Home see the links below and ENJOY!

Chapter One

Parts 1 & 2

Parts 3 & 4

Parts 5 & 6

Part 7

Part 8

Chapter Two

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Parts 4 & 5

Part 6

Part 7

Chapter Three

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Chapter Four

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Chapter Five

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Sort:  

If you enjoyed this, please check out the next part here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65