Exploring New Territories: First Video Essay.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Alt Text

One of the most repeated frequent questions I get lately is this: Short-form content, or long-form content?

My personal take is this: Both.

Yes, I know, it kind of sounds like some generic, single-serving, one-size-fits-all answer. But taking a closer look, you do get to see the benefit of both.

On one hand, there's undoubtedly a substantial part of the public that prefer short and sweet content. Which is totally valid by the way, in fact. some short-jokes I've read were so amazing that I still remember to this day.

And on the other hand, there's a special sense of happiness that comes when people tell you that they couldn't stop reading, you knew their time is precious and now you realize that you made it worth their while. Plus, a story should be as long as it needs to be.

But here's the intersting part, in the middle of the Short-Form Versus Long Form debate, there's a third form of content that always seemed to slip away unnoticed. And that, is the video form content.

Video Killed the Readio Star

Alt Text

This is something I've been pondering for a while, if it's time to start experimenting with video essays? And not because I think that blogging or writing is antiquated, but just to provide another channel to those who prefer watch rather than read. Hell, I myself subscribe to several Video Essay channels: The Nerd Writer, Film Radar, Lessons of the ScreenPlay...Etc.

That being said, I never tried to experiment with the same... Until today.

If You Don't Try, You Never Know

Alt Text

Last month I wrote a post titled "The Screen is the Pathway to the Heart" where I was exploring some thoughts about the part that entertaiment plays in setting trends, and how we could use the art of filmmaking to help spread the word about this pretty cool blockchain technology we all love and use everyday. As well as the goal we have in the @hardfork-series to introduce the technology's new and unfamiliar concepts to new audiences while keeping them entertained.

So with that mind, it's no secret that I chose that paricular post to start my very first video essay, and I'm happy to share it with you all. Without further ado, here it goes.

Please let me know your thoughts below!

P.S: If anyone wants to collaborate in future essay videos (stock footage research, music, editing..) feel free to send me a message in the chat at @the-alien. If enough people prefer video nowaday, maybe it's not such a bad idea to create that type of content as well.

Steem on everybody and great weekend to all!

Image Sources: 1 - 2 - 3

Disclaimer: I'm not the guy in the picture above, I know it's funny but I thought to mention that.

Sort:  

a good weekend to you to mate!

You too! I hope you're having a great one as well!

Very good job...

There is teaching, and there's raising questions. The first is long, the latter short. That's my take on it.

Pretty cool! I can't wait to see more of them!

Thank you Guillaume! Merci mon ami :)

its a great time when you know @the-alien just dropped a new article :D

Hey! It's great to see you again @blazing! Thanks you for the nice words :)

I'll try to post more frequently from now on.

That's more awesomeness :D

This is a great post my friend... but those Stormtroopers are awesome!

Thank you my friend!

Haha the Stormtroopers I thought it was funny and fitting, so I thought to myself "go for it". :P

Good job. Why not have video as a part of your offerings on Steemit. There are so many variables in both content and what people enjoy it would be good having all types of content, in my opinion.

Oh that was just a video essay of an already written post. But, yeah it's great to have all types of content, I totally agree! :)

Excellent article mate thanks for sharing

Thank you Cityslicker, I appreciate it. :)

Excellent work done man this was awesome

Thank you, I'm glad you like it!

Dude, your blog is incredible, is it a team effort or do you do it alone? Hey, I upped 100% and am following!

Thanks a lot man! The written blogs it's just me, but the videos are definitely team effort.

No problem, keep up the good work!

You should go for it! your content is definitely interesting!

Thank you @bananuy! I think I will do it then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 64830.63
ETH 3391.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33