The Bank RobberysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

It had been a while, it was late and wouldn't be dark for much longer.

"Put it in the bag! Now!”

Mike was in the reception area, he'd been screaming at a young man behind the counter who's trying to hold onto some veneer of calm.

I felt bad. But what needed to be done, had to be done.

I scanned the cohort of petrified bodies in the foyer and kept my shotgun pointed at them. I’ve done this so many times before, but each time I’m suffused with shame. The soft whimpers and sobbing always hit me the hardest. However, given the choice, I opt for crowd control rather than genuine robbery.

Mike likes to take his time and I knew if I shouted for him to hurry up I'd give a hero in the crowd a chance to strike. But time wasn't what we had. If we run out of time, the police will be the least of our problems. I turn:

"Time is of the essence, Mike."

"Focus on the crowd!"

He was right, had he not been so swift with the reply perhaps I wouldn't be here now. I turned back and was greeted by the passing air of a recently swung fist. Indeed, a hero tried to save the night. My reflexes were too quick, I sprung back and dodged the second blow, he could've knocked my teeth out. His face was no match for the butt of my shotgun.

God, I hate hurting people.

I took a deep breath and refocused on the crowd.

"Shut up!"

That was close.

A few more minutes go by and I saw Mike sprinting through the corridor, the duffle bag swollen with the goods. We wasted no time getting out of there and into the dark night. Some blocks later we turned into the alley where the getaway vehicle was. I jumped in the back and Mike put the keys in the ignition and we're out of the city.

I took off my clown mask.

"How'd we do?"

"We'll be good for a month."

I pulled out a nobel looking garnet sack, pierced it with my teeth and poured it into my mouth. A moment of ecstasy ensued as the coppery taste clothed my tongue. Mike looked back and smiled:

*"Save some O negative for me, I don't like those A positives!"

The more I drank the more the stress, anger and hunger subsided.

But that was nearly a month ago and the our supply is waning. You know, I think it isn't worth stealing this stuff, I could easily go out, into the night, and prey on a runaway or two.

But I can’t bring myself to do that, I hate hurting people. Robbing blood banks it is. Even a vampire has gotta have a little moral grounding.

Robbery.jpg

Sort:  

Great story! Flash fiction has a terrific penchant for subverting reader expectations.

Cheers @horrorguyian , It was a fun piece to write!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61